Welcome to the website of the Office of Professional and Financial Regulation, an agency within the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation. We appreciate your visit to our homepage and we look forward to assisting you.
Although our building in Gardiner, Maine is not open to the public due to the COVID-19 health emergency, our staff remains available to resolve your complaints, answer your questions, and continue to deliver high-quality services to consumers and regulated industries.
Please contact us by email or by phone or through our other online services, and we will assist you. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.
The staff of the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation
The Maine Board of Real Estate Appraisers was established to protect the public through examination and licensure of persons who wish to conduct real estate appraisals for a fee in the State of Maine as mandated by the federal Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989.
The primary responsibilities of the Board are to identify qualified applicants for licensure, to issue licenses and renewals to applicants who have met licensure requirements and to promulgate rules as necessary to ensure protection of the public to enforce the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP).
Appraiser Licensees Please Note
Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD (PDF)) Commissioner Johnson designated Real Estate as an essential business and we have confirmed that Real Estate Appraisers are part of that designation. Please note that CDC and the Executive Order (PDF) guidelines for personal and work site safety should be followed including physical distancing and other health and safety precautions.
The Maine Board of Real Estate Apppraisers has Adopted the May 2018 AQB Criteria. Previous degree and experience requirements have been modified. Those who did not previously qualify to upgrade under the old criteria may now qualify. See Summary of Changes Here (PDF).
APPRAISAL MANAGEMENT COMPANY LICENSING
New AMC license law as of 08/30/2018 (PDF) (See Section D)
Please note: Under the terms of 10 M.R.S. § 8003-G(2) all licensees, including AMC licensees, are required to report to the Board any criminal conviction or disciplinary action taken within 10 days of the action.
FINGERPRINTING Effective 1/1/2017
Fingerprints are required for any NEW license applications submitted such as applications for Registered Appraiser Trainees, or upgrade applications for Licensed Residential Real Property Appraisers, Certified Residential Real Property Appraisers or Certified General Real Property Appraisers.
Fingerprints are required for any NEW license applications submitted via reciprocity.
Fingerprints are NOT required for Temporary License applicants or license renewals.
Future correspondence from the Board of Real Estate Appraisers will be sent to you by email, so please be sure to keep your contact information current. Follow this link to verify your contact information.
AQB and Board approved CE classroom offerings are allowed to be converted to synchronous delivery through December 31, 2021 subject to AQB guidelines.
License Renewal Reminder - Have You Completed Your CE?
All Maine Licensed Residential, Certified Residential and Certified General Appraiser licenses will expire on December 31, 2020. Licenses may be renewed up to 60 days prior to expiration; a complementary renewal reminder will be sent by email on November 1st. As part of the renewal process licensees are required to certify whether or not they have completed 14 hours of approved continuing education during the 2020 licensing term at the time of renewal. Since 2020 is an EVEN year renewal, you ARE REQUIRED TO TAKE the 7 hour USPAP Update Course as part of the 14 hours required to renew a license.
To be in compliance the 2020 renewal requirement, you must have completed the education requirements when you submit your renewal; not that you intend to complete it before the expiration date or any other time after submission of the renewal. Take a moment now to check that you have documentation to verify your continuing education before you renew. If you find you are lacking education hours, you still have time to complete the requirement with any AQB approved (PDF) or Board approved (PDF) program.
Please note: After the last continuing education audit, 4 licensees were found not in compliance. The Board imposed the following disciplinary sanctions: a warning; a $200.00 civil penalty; and completion of the outstanding continuing education. As with all disciplinary actions, this matter was reported to the National Registry and is part of the licensee's permanent record with the Board.
Additional appraiser continuing education requirement information (PDF).
NOTICE CONCERNING DELIVERY OF APPRAISER LICENSES
Appraiser licenses are now delivered to licensees via email. The email sender is displayed as “firstname.lastname@example.org” and the subject as “YOUR OFFICIAL (license type) LICENSE IS ATTACHED”. Paper licenses will NOT be mailed to licensees with an email address on file.
You have the opportunity to update your contact information when you renew your license online or you may update your email address and other contact information anytime here.
Interested in receiving informational notices and updates from
the Board of Real Estate Appraisers? Simply insert your email address
in the box provided on the top, left side of this webpage to subscribe!
Notice to Review Appraisers
Maine is a mandatory state. If you are reviewing an appraisal of a property located in Maine and "opining" a value conclusion, you need a Maine license.
Changes to Real Property Appraiser Qualifications Effective
September 19, 2019
The 2018-2019 Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice
is now available. Click here to order through the Appraisal Foundation.