Board of Complementary Health Care Providers - Licensing - Acupuncture, Naturopathic Acupuncture, Naturopathic Doctor

Acupuncture

Acupuncture means the insertion of fine metal needles through the skin at specific points on or near the surface of the body with or without the palpitation of specific points on the body and with or without the application of electric current or heat to the needles or skin, or both. The practice of acupuncture is based on traditional oriental theories and serves to normalize physiological function, treat certain diseases and dysfunctions of the body, prevent or modify the perception of pain and promote health and well-being.

How to apply

Fees

  • License fee $180.00
  • Criminal background check fee $21.00

Term

  • Annual
  • October 31st

Requirements

You must be at least 21 years of age.

Complete and submit the Application for Licensure with the following information:

  • Appropriate fee made payable to the Maine State Treasurer or if paying by credit card complete the credit card authorization form.
  • Verification of Licensure (if needed)
  • Proof of completion of a Baccalaureate Degree
  • Proof of 1,000 Acupuncture Classroom Hours
  • Proof of 300 Acupuncture Hours of Clinical Experience
  • NCCAOM Certification

See Board Laws and Rules for full requirements

Renewal fees and information

Fees

Annual renewal fee $180.00

Terms

Renews annually on October 31st

Renew Now

Fill out the online renewal application and submit.

The Department must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before your license is renewed. Online submission of your renewal application should not be construed as automatic renewal of your license.

Requirements

  • A late fee of $50 is assessed for licenses renewed after the license expiration date.
  • A person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after license expiration date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants.
  • Renewal reminders are electronically mailed approximately 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is the licensee's responsibility to keep the Board informed of the current e-mail address and/or to see that the license is renewed absent the renewal application.
  • CONTINUING Education - An Applicant for renewal must obtain 30 continuing education units over the two year biennium. Continuing education credit will be given for programs which are directly related to the knowledge and clinical practice of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine.

For more information regarding continuing education please see chapter 5 section 1 and 2 of the rules.

 

Naturopathic Doctor

Naturopathic doctor means a person authorized and licensed to practice naturopathic medicine.

How to apply

Fees

  • License fee $180.00
  • Criminal background check fee $21.00

Term

Annual renewal on October 31

Requirements

Complete and submit the Application for Licensure with the following information:

  • Application with appropriate fee made payable to the Maine State Treasure or if paying by credit card complete the credit card authorization form.
  • Verification of Licensure (if needed)
  • Transcript from Approved Naturopathic Medical College
  • Scores received from NPLEX showing successful completion of exam
  • Two signed, original reference letters from ND, DO or MD

See Board Laws and Rules for full requirements

Renewal fees and information

Fees

Annual renewal fee is $180.00

Terms

This license renews annually on October 31.

Renew Now

Fill out the online renewal application and submit.

The Department must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before your license is renewed. Online submission of your renewal application should not be construed as automatic renewal of your license.

Requirements

  • A late fee of $50 is assessed for licenses renewed after the license expiration date.
  • A person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after license expiration date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants.
  • Renewal reminders are electronically mailed approximately 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is the licensee's responsibility to keep the Board informed of the current license address and/or to see that the license is renewed absent the renewal application.
  • CONTINUING EDUCATION - An application for renewal shall complete 37 hours of continuing education annually and 15 hours of continuing education annually, specific to that specialty. The 37 hours shall consist of the following:
  • At least 7 hours shall be in pharmacology;
  • No more than 15 hours may be in naturopathic and/or medical journals or audio-or videotaped presentations, slides, programmed instruction or computer-assisted instruction and/or preceptorships;
  • No more than 10 hours may be in any single topic; and

SEE CHAPTER 5, SECTIONS 1 - 3 FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION ON CONTINUING Education.

 

Naturopathic Acupuncture

Naturopathic acupuncture means the insertion of acupuncture needles into specific points on the skin to treat human disease and impairment and to relieve pain. The practice of naturopathic acupuncture is only within the scope of practice of naturopathic doctors certified pursuant to section 12525.

How to apply

Fees

  • License fee $35.00
  • Criminal background check fee $21.00

Term

Annual renewal on October 31

Requirements

Complete and submit the Application for Licensure with the following information:

  • Appropriate fee made payable to the Maine State Treasurer or if paying by credit card complete the credit card authorization form.
  • Verification of Licensure (if needed)
  • Transcript from Approved Naturopathic Medical College
  • Scores Received from NPLEX showing successful completion of exam
  • Two signed, original reference letters from ND, DO or MD
  • Proof of 1,000 Acupuncture Classroom Hours
  • Proof of 300 Acupuncture Hours of Clinical Experience
  • NCCAOM Certification

See Board Laws and Rules for full requirements

Renewal fees and information

Fees

Annual renewal fee is $50.00

Terms

This license renews annually on October 31.

Renew Now

Fill out the online renewal application and submit.

The Department must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before your license is renewed. Online submission of your renewal application should not be construed as automatic renewal of your license.

Requirements

  • A late fee of $50.00 is assessed for licenses renewed after the license expiration date.
  • A person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after license expiration date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants.
  • Renewal reminders are electronically mailed approximately 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is the licensee's responsibility to keep the Board informed of the current license address and/or to see that the license is renewed absent the renewal application.
  • CONTINUING EDUCATION - An application for renewal shall complete 37 hours of continuing education annually and 15 hours of continuing education annually, specific to that specialty. The 37 hours shall consist of the following:
  • At least 7 hours shall be in pharmacology;
  • No more than 15 hours may be in naturopathic and/or medical journals or audio-or videotaped presentations, slides, programmed instruction or computer-assisted instruction and/or preceptorships;
  • No more than 10 hours may be in any single topic

SEE CHAPTER 5, SECTIONS 1 - 3 FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION ON CONTINUING EDUCATION.