Board of Licensure for Professional Land Surveyors - Licensing - Professional Land Surveyor, Land Surveyor in Training

 

Professional Land Surveyor

Professional Land Surveyor means a person licensed by the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation to perform any service or work involving the application of special knowledge for the purpose of determining property boundaries, determining area and volume, platting of land and subdivisions and other services as defined by law [reference 32 MRSA Chapter 141 §18201 "Definitions"].

How to apply

Fees

  • Examination fee: $ 150.00
  • License fee: $ 275.00
  • Criminal records check: $21.00

Term

  • Biennial (2 years)
  • Renews December 31st of each odd year

Requirements

Requirements to Become a Maine Professional Land Surveyor (PLS)

Non-Resident Applicants and Applicants Who Hold a License in Another State

In addition to meeting the requirements described above and filing the required applications and fees, non-residents and residents who hold a valid license in another state may seek licensure in Maine by:

Renewal fees and information

Fees

  • Biennial renewal fee is $275.00
  • Late fee of $50.00 assessed if license renewed after the expire date.

Terms

  • Renews biennially on December 31st of each odd year

Renew Now

  • Fill out the online renewal application and submit.

    The Department must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before your license is renewed. Online submission of your renewal application should not be construed as automatic renewal of your license.

Requirements

  • A late fee of $50.00 is assessed for licenses renewed after December 31st.
  • Applicants who submit an application for renewal more than 90 days after the license expiration date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants and is required to reapply with original license application, documentation and fees, except that, at its discretion, the Board may waive examination.
  • Renewal reminders are emailed to the email address on file at least 30 days prior to the license expiration date. It is the licensee's responsibility to keep the Board informed of current contact information and to see that the license is renewed absent the renewal application. Reminder includes licensee’s access code which, along with license number, is required for online renewal.
  • Continuing Education - 8 hours of Board approved professional development education is required for renewal. See Chapter 70 (DOC).

Land Surveyor-in-training

Land surveyor-in-training means a person licensed by the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation to perform, as a responsible charge of a licensed professional land surveyor, any service or work involving the application of special knowledge for the purpose of determining property boundaries, area and volume, platting of land and subdivisions and other services as defined by law [reference 32 MRSA Chapter 141 §18201 "Definitions"]. The work of a land surveyor-in-training must be reviewed and stamped or sealed by a licensed professional land surveyor.

How to apply

Fees

  • Examination fee: Paid directly to NCEES
  • License fee: $ 175
  • Criminal records check: $21.00

Term

  • Biennial (2 years)
  • Renews December 31st of each odd year

Requirements

General Requirements

Completed initial application (PDF) to include:

  • Transcripts for approved surveying curriculum as described below.
  • Education
    • Baccalaureate degree that includes the minimum surveying core curriculum, OR
    • Associate degree that includes the minimum surveying core curriculum and 2 years of surveying experience satisfactory to the Board, OR
    • Completion of the minimum surveying core curriculum and 6 years of surveying experience satisfactory to the Board, OR
    • 7 years surveying experience satisfactory to the Board.
    • Examination

    MINIMUM SURVEYING CORE CURRICULUM

    • Surveying (6 credit hours)
    • Boundary Law (3 credit hours)
    • English Composition (3 credit hours)
    • Mathematics (6 credit hours) advanced algebra, analytical trigonometry, analytical geometry, differential calculus, integral calculus, spherical trigonometry, or statistical analysis
    • Business and Law (6 credit hours) legal principles, accounting, business administration, contracts, business law, professional ethics
    • Science 36 credit hours) physics, geology, astronomy, soils, dendrology, chemistry, biology, ecology

NON-RESIDENT APPLICANTS AND APPLICANTS WHO HOLD A LICENSE IN ANOTHER STATE

In addition to meeting the requirements described above and filing the required applications and fees, nonresidents and residents who hold a valid license in another state are required to furnish verification of licensure as Land Surveyor-in-Training in another state.

    Renewal fees and information

    Fees

    • Biennial renewal fee is $175.00.
    • Late fee of $50.00 assessed if license renewed after the expire date.

    Terms

    • This license renews biennially on December 31 of each odd year.

    Renew Now

    • Fill out the online renewal application and submit.

      The Department must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before your license is renewed. Online submission of your renewal application should not be construed as automatic renewal of your license.

    Requirements

    • A late fee of $50.00 is assessed for licenses renewed after December 31.
    • Applicants who submit an application for renewal more than 90 days after the license expiration date are subject to all requirements governing new applicants and is required to reapply with original license application, documentation and fees, except that, at its discretion, the Board may waive examination.
    • Renewal reminders are emailed to the email address on file at least 30 days prior to the license expiration date. It is the licensee's responsibility to keep the Board informed of current contact information and to see that the license is renewed absent the renewal application. Reminder includes licensee’s access code which, along with license number, is required for online renewal.