Effective March 1, 2019, the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR) will no longer issue paper license verifications. License verifications are available, free of charge, on OPOR’s official database, https://www.pfr.maine.gov/ALMSOnline/ALMSQuery/Welcome.aspx.This database is updated in real time as changes occur.The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation considers this information to be a secure, primary source for license verification.
*** APPRAISAL MANAGEMENT COMPANY LICENSING ***
New AMC license law as of 08/30/2018 (See Section D)
Under the terms of 10 M.R.S. § 8003-G(2) all licensees, including AMC licensees, are required to report to the Board any criminal conviction or disciplinary action taken within 10 days of the action.
FINGERPRINTING Effective 1/1/2017
Fingerprints are required for any NEW license applications submitted such as applications for Registered Appraiser Trainees, or upgrade applications for Licensed Residential Real Property Appraisers, Certified Residential Real Property Appraisers or Certified General Real Property Appraisers.
Fingerprints are required for any NEW license applications submitted via reciprocity.
Fingerprints are NOT required for Temporary License applicants or license renewals.
Fingerprinting instructions for Maine applicants
Fingerprinting instructions for out-of-state applicants (or physically unable to go to a location)
REGISTER FOR FINGERPRINTING-ALL APPLICANTS
DOWNLOAD A FINGERPRINT CARD
Future correspondence from the Board of Real Estate Appraisers will be sent to you by email, so please be sure to keep your contact information current. Follow this link to verify your contact information.
How to apply for a license
What you can do with our online Licensing System:
License Renewal Reminder - Have You Completed Your CE?
All Maine Licensed Residential, Certified Residential and Certified General Appraiser licenses will expire on December 31, 2018. Licenses may be renewed up to 60 days prior to expiration; a complementary renewal reminder will be sent by email on November 1st. As part of the renewal process licensees are required to certify whether or not they have completed 14 hours of approved continuing education during the 2018 licensing term at the time of renewal. Since 2018 is an even year renewal, you must take the 7 hour USPAP Update Course as part of the 14 hours required to renew a license. Do not take the 15 hour USPAP Course in lieu of the 7 hour course as it will not fulfill the requirement for renewal. To be in compliance the 2018 renewal requirement, you must have completed the education requirements when you submit your renewal; not that you intend to complete it before the expiration date or any other time after submission of the renewal. Take a moment now to check that you have documentation to verify your continuing education before you renew. If you find you are lacking education hours, you still have time to complete the requirement with any AQB approved or Board approved program.
Please note: After the last continuing education audit, 2 licensees were found not in compliance. The Board imposed the following disciplinary sanctions: a warning; a$200.00 civil penalty; and completion of the outstanding continuing education. As with all disciplinary actions, this matter was reported to the National Registry and is part of the licensee's permanent record with the Board.
Click here for additional appraiser continuing education requirement information.
Real Estate Appraisers Continuing Education Program Approval Application
Individual Request for Continuing Education Credit
**Please note the 7 hour USPAP Update course is required for even year renewals**
**2018 IS AN EVEN YEAR RENEWAL**
Office of Professional and Financial Regulation - Policy on Veterans Preference - Adopted February 2017
NOTICE CONCERNING DELIVERY OF APPRAISER LICENSES
Appraiser licenses are now delivered to licensees via email. The email sender is displayed as “email@example.com” and the subject as “YOUR OFFICIAL (license type) LICENSE IS ATTACHED”. Paper licenses will NOT be mailed to licensees with an email address on file.
You have the opportunity to update your contact information when you renew your license online or you may update your email address and other contact information anytime here.
FHA Appraiser Alert - FHA's Electronic Appraisal Delivery (EAD) Portal -
Appraiser Actions (10/19/2015)
Interested in receiving informational notices and updates from
the Board of Real Estate Appraisers? Simply insert your email address
in the box provided on the top, left side of this webpage to subscribe!
Appraisal Foundation Brochures:
|Notice to Review Appraisers
||Maine is a mandatory state. If you are reviewing an appraisal of a property located in Maine and "opining" a value conclusion, you need a Maine license.
Board Rules Updates Effective August 29, 2018:
Chapter 240 "Standards of Professional Practice"
Chapter 220 "Educational Course Requirements"
Changes to Real Property Appraiser Qualifications Effective
January 1, 2015
10 day notification of convictions, discipline, & material changes
The Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria
Summary of Changes to Real Property Appraiser Qualifications
First Exposure Draft of Proposed Changes for 2020-21 Edition of USPAP
The 2018-2019 Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice
is now available. Click here to order through the Appraisal Foundation.
Appraisal Practices Board
|Adopted Valuation Advisories
March 1, 2019