Public Health Districts

In 2008, the Maine Legislature in conjunction with the Maine Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) approved the establishment of eight public health districts, using population size, geographic areas (county borders), and hospital service areas. In 2011, in collaboration with the five Maine Tribal jurisdictions, a Tribal Health District was established with boundaries determined by Tribal Health Center service areas and tribal jurisdictional boundaries.

Aroostook - District 8 Aroostook County
Central - District 5 Somerset and Kennebec Counties
Cumberland - District 2 Cumberland County
Downeast - District 7 Washington and Hancock Counties
Midcoast - District 4 Waldo, Lincoln, Knox, Sagadahoc Counties
Penquis - District 6 Penobscot and Piscataquis Counties
Western - District 3 Androscoggin, Franklin, and Oxford Counties
York - District 1 York County
Tribal Health District 5 Tribal Communities

The establishment of the public health districts was designed to enhance effective and efficient delivery of public health services by

  • Creating the geographic and local framework for greater consistency and equity in statewide delivery of all 10 Essential Public Health Services.
  • Providing a consistent basis for regional planning and coordination across the governmental, private (including business), public, and nonprofit sectors.
  • Building sustainable infrastructure through regional co-location of Maine CDC and DHHS staff, and through an interactive, fully participatory District Coordinating Councils.

Each public health district is led by a District Liaison, who coordinates with Maine CDC staff in the district (Public Health Unit) and who provides leadership with an elected executive committee for the district coordinating council. A Tribal Liaison coordinates tribal district health initiatives with the health leadership of the five tribal jurisdictions.

The District Liaisons are also responsible for coordinating technical assistance and trainings to Local Health Officers in their districts. Each town, city, and plantations is required under state law to appoint a Local Health Officer for up to a three year term. See Local Health Officers for more information.