Lyme Disease Awareness Month Activities

In order to promote Lyme Disease Awareness Month (LDAM) in May, the following materials have been developed for inclusion in newsletters:

2019 Calendar of Events:

Lyme Disease Awareness Month Poster Contest 2019

The theme for the 10th annual Lyme Disease Awareness Month poster contest is: Tick Aware and Tick Alert

"Remember to always be Tick Aware and Tick Alert by following these CDC approved prevention techniques:

  1. Use of EPA approved repellent
  2. Wear protective clothing
  3. Perform daily tick checks
  4. Use caution in tick infested areas

Below are the 2018 "No Ticks for ME" poster contest winners:

K-1 winner:
Marilyn Norton
1st grade
Stratton School
Marilyn's poster
Grade 2-3 winner
Madeline Bell
3rd grade
Spruce Mountain Elementary
Madeline's poster
Grade 2-3 winner
Natasha McDonald
3rd grade
Spruce Mountain Elementary
Natasha's poster
Grade 5 winner
Mary Lovewell
5th grade
Spruce Mountain Elementary
Mary's poster
Grade 6 winner
Eben Michaud
6th grade
Winthrop Middle School
Eben's poster
Grade 7 winner
Evie King
7th grade
Harrison Middle School
Kenzi's poster

We would like to thank our contributors for their efforts:

Maine Senior College Network Maine Rivers Piscataquis Regional YMCA
Kennebec YMCA Maine Department of Environmental Protection Healthy Acadia
Maine Public Health Association Maine Senior College Maine Invasive Species Network
Boothbay Region YMCA Maine Professional Guides Association YMCA of Southern Maine
University of Maine Cooperative Extension at Highmoor Farm Maine Organic Farmers and Gardeners Association

Thanks to the 2018 participants

We would like to recognize the following individuals for their 2018 "No Ticks for ME" poster contest submission:

Addie Knieser Stratton School
Mason Cote Stratton School
MiaBella Lynch Stratton School
Mya Gellman Stratton School
Lorelei Parent Owls Head Central
Brayden Fogg Owls Head Central
Kendra Rackliffe Stratton School
Praxton Wardrick Stratton School
Jack Spearin Owls Head Central
Nolan McLennan Owls Head Central
Rylea Evans Owls Head Central
Edna Bilodeau Stratton School
Adney Boothby Spruce Mountain
Deacon Soucier Farrington School
Batool Al braini Farrington School
Allyson Dumont Farrington School
Siena LaMonica Farrington School
Garrett Dolbec Spruce Mountain
Devin Mane Spruce Mountain
Brieanna Lee Spruce Mountain
Autumn Emery Stratton School
Maya Franklin Stratton School
Wesley Wardrick Stratton School
Laiken Parent Owls Head Central
Lily Lombardo Owls Head Central
Lucas Fener Owls Head Central
Hazel Ragozine Owls Head Central
Scout Bookham Owls Head Central
Sophia Protheroe Owls Head Central
Evan Bilodeau Stratton School
Fallyn Ryan Stratton School
Mallory Clark Spruce Mountain
Ava Finelli Spruce Mountain
Matthew Williams Stratton School
Selma Adam Winthrop Middle School
Delilah Tompkins Winthrop Middle School
Willow Emery Stratton School
Charlie Koenig Stratton School
Sarah Beaulier Stratton School
Lilia Sawhney Harrison Middle School
Cassidy Strunk Stratton School
William Defroscia Stratton School
Abigail Marble Stratton School