Allagash Wilderness Waterway Advisory Council

Allagash Wilderness Waterway


  • As a result of the recommendations of the Allagash Wilderness Waterway Working Group that were signed into law in 2007.
  • To aid in the long-term governance, management and oversight structure for this vital resource and will bring stability, peace and prestige to its management. (As stated in PL 2007, c. 146)
  • To work with the manager of the waterway in developing and maintaining a strategic plan (PDF 760KB) for the waterway and advancing the mission and goals of the waterway. (Pursuant to MRS title 12 1980-A; B)

In addition, the legislation also required the Director of the Bureau of Parks & Lands to "create technical committees as needed to advance the waterway's purposes".

The Advisory Council is made up of seven members:

  • 6 appointed by the Governor
  • 1 representing the National Park Service


  • Peter Bourque - Chair & Natural resource planning and management member
  • Joanne Allen - Wilderness recreation member
  • Amanda Barker - Public Representative
  • Jim MacCartney - Representative of the National Park Service
  • Dave Milligan - Fisheries and wildlife conservation member
  • Bob O'Leary - Cultural and historic preservation member
  • Jim O'Malley - Silviculture - sustainable forest management member

Strategic Plan

If you cannot open the PDFs below get a copy of the free Adobe Reader sofware.

Annual Report

Advisory Council Meetings

No meetings currently scheduled.
Date and Time Headline Location Additional Information

Meeting Minutes

For more information, please contact:

Allagash Wilderness Waterway
106 Hogan Road, Suite 7
Bangor, ME 04401
(207) 941-4014