DACF Home → Bureaus & Programs → Bureau of Parks and Lands → Discover History & Explore Nature → History & Historic Sites → The Mayall Mills → Upper Mill
The Upper Mill, 1816-1886
Built in 1816 to expand Mayall’s production, the Upper Mill continued to produce woolen cloth until it was destroyed by fire in 1886. This photograph was taken in the 1800s when the mills were in operation. The Lower Mill appears in the right background. Despite the fire and decades of decay one corner of the Upper Mill still stands.