Maine Law Requires Anyone Using Power Tools to Penetrate the Ground (Including Homeowners (PDF)) to First:
Pre-mark the boundaries of the proposed area of excavation with white markings.
Call 811 three (3) business days (72 hours) prior to digging. Dig Safe® will then automatically notify all of its member utilities that own underground facilities in the area of the excavation so that they can mark their facilities.
Notify all non-member owners of underground facilities in the area of the excavation 3 business days prior to digging as some underground facilities may be private.
The Maine Public Utilities Commission (MPUC) is vigorously enforcing these rules and may fine you up to $10,000 per violation if you do not comply. Therefore, please take time to review and understand the law (Title 23, §3360-A) and the MPUC Rules - See Chapter 895 (Word).
Dig Safe Public Service Announcements
Unpaved Road Grading Form
- Annual Activity Report Form (PDF)
- Annual Activity Report Form (DOC)
- Underground Facility Incident Report Form (PDF)
- Underground Facility Incident Report Form (DOC)
Damage Prevention Training
The Maine Public Utilities Commission Damage Prevention Team provides training opportunities for utility operators, those in the excavation community, and the general public. These trainings typically take 2 to 2 1/2 hours and are free of charge. Trainings take place at the Maine Public Utilities Commission at 25 Katherine Drive, in Hallowell. For those wishing to provide training to a large number of personnel, on site-trainings at your facility may also be available. To schedule a training, please contact Hattie Trask at firstname.lastname@example.org
For additional information, please visit:
If you have any questions, please call the MPUC at