Medical Direction & Practices Board

Membership and Meetings

During the COVID-19 Pandemic, the MDPB held informal update meetings.  Based on current conditions, these meetings ended on October 3, 2022.  The MDPB will monitor pandemic status in Maine/nationally and resume meeting if conditions warrant.  This is also an agenda item for monthly MDPB meetings.

2021 Protocols

Maine EMS implemented new statewide EMS protocols on December 1, 2021, Visit the Protocol Page for more information and resources.

2023 Protocols

Protocols are updated on a 2-year cycle, and the MDPB has begun work on the 2023 Protocols.  More information can be found by visiting the MDPB Resources page.

The Medical Direction and Practices Board (MDPB) consists of the state EMS medical director, the associate state medical director, six regional medical directors, a pharmacist/toxicologist, a pediatric physician, a Maine licensed ALS provider, a Maine licensed BLS provider and a representative of the Maine Chapter of the American College of Emergency Medicine (ACEP). The MDPB meets the 3rd Wednesday of the month at 9:30 AM.

All meetings are open to the public, with the exception of those portions that may be conducted in executive session in accordance with Maine Law 32 M.R.S.A. § 90-A(3) and 1 M.R.S.A. § 405(6)(E) & (F)

All meetings are held at Maine EMS, 45 Commerce Drive, Suite 1, Augusta, ME 04333.  Meetings are typically held in the Champlain conference room.  Directions are located here.


A variety of resources related to Maine EMS Protocols, white papers and other documents can be found here.

Clinical & Operational Bulletins can be found here.

Medical Direction & Practices Board Members.

The Chair of the MDPB is Dr. Matthew Sholl.

Name Position Represented
J. Matthew Sholl, MD State EMS Medical Director
Kate Zimmerman, DO Associate State EMS Medical Director
Michael Bohanske, MD Southern Maine Region 1 (Region 1)
Seth Ritter, MD Tri-County Region (Region 2)
Tim Pieh, MD Kennebec Valley Region (Region 3)
David Saquet, DO Northeastern Maine Region (Region 4)
Beth Collamore, MD Aroostook Region (Region 5)
Benjy Lowry, MD Midcoast Region (Region 6)
Pete Tilney, DO At-Large
Bethany Nash, PharmD Pharmacist or Toxicologist
Colin Ayer, Paramedic ALS Provider (Paramedic)
Emily Wells, PharmD, AEMT BLS Provider (EMR, EMT, or AEMT)
Rachel Williams, MD Pediatric Physician
Kelly Meehan-Coussee, MD American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP)
Support Staff  
Christopher Azevedo Maine EMS