EMD License Renewal Prior to Expiration Date
The State of Maine no longer issues physical license cards. You can download and print a copy of your license by logging into your eLicensing account.
Maine EMS licenses expire at midnight on the last day of the month listed. To renew your EMD license, complete a license renewal form through eLicensing and provide your IAED number (you do not need to submit a copy of your certification.
Relicensure may take up to 10 days. Please plan ahead! If you have not been issued a renewed license and your current license expires, YOU CANNOT PERFORM Emergency Medical Dispatch!
What if I submit early for renewal?
If you submit prior to the month your EMD license expires, the application will remain in an in-box until the 1st of the month you are due to expire. It will then be processed and you will be notified by email when it is completed.
How is my expiration date determined?
Your Maine EMD license is set to expire 90 days AFTER your IAED certification. Remember, you must have both an IAED certificate AND be affiliated with an EMD center to have a Maine EMD license issued to you.
How do I determine if I have enough continuing education hours?
Maine EMS issues a Maine EMD license based on your IAED certificate. To determine your continuing education hour status of your IAED certification, visit https://learn.emergencydispatch.org/LEARN/
I was deployed in the National Guard or US Armed Forces Reserve
If you are a member of the National Guard or the reserves of the United States Armed Forces and have been deployed, special circumstances may apply.
If you have been deployed for more than 30 days and have been licensed by Maine EMS for more than 30 days, you may been entitled to an automatic extension of your license. Please review the Maine Statue found at http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/37-b/title37-Bsec390-A.html