Provider Renewal

EMS License Renewal Prior to Expiration Date

The State of Maine no longer issues physical EMS license cards. You can download and print a copy of your license by logging into your eLicensing account.

Maine EMS licenses expire at midnight on the last day of the month listed. To renew your EMS license, check you Continuing Education Hours (CEH) status. Remember, any classes offered through CAPCE or are “Alphabet Soup” classes (CPR, PHTLS, ACLS, PALS, etc.) will not appear on your Maine EMS CEH report. Proof of completion and current status must be submitted electronically with your application. Maine EMS does not require CPR, ACLS, PHTLS, PALS or NREMT for renewal.

Relicensure may take up to 10 days. Please plan ahead! If you have not been issued a renewed license and your current license expires, YOU CANNOT PERFORM EMS CARE, TREATMENT, OR TRANSPORT!

What if I submit early for renewal?

If you submit prior to the month your EMS license expires, and you wish to keep the same month as your expiration date, the application will remain in an in-box until the 1st of the month you are due to expire. It will then be processed and you will be notified by email when it is completed.

What if I submit early and want to change my expiration date?

If you submit prior to the month your EMS license expires, and wish to change the month of your next renewal, please include a note in your application stating this, or call Maine EMS and speak to a licensing agent.

How do I determine if I have enough continuing education hours?

To determine your Continuing education status:

1. Review what is needed based on your license level

2. What does each CEH category include?

3. What is a pre-approved “Alphabet Soup (i.e. CPR, ACLS, PALS, ICS)” class worth in CEH?

  • View CEH – Standardized CEH Programs List (PDF) 
    • NOTE: Ignore the expiration dates listed on this page.
  • NOTE: A pre-approved course listed MUST be valid on the date you renew your EMS license for the CEH hours to count. You MUST attach a digital copy of the card or certificate to your renewal application for the hours to be counted. It will not show in renewal hours online.

4. Is there an easy way to calculate out how many hours I need?

5. What if I have a CAPCE (formerly CECBEMS) approved course?

  • These courses are all pre-approved and count hour for hour in the indicated category.
  • You MUST attach a digital copy of the card or completion certificate to your renewal application for the hours to be counted. It will not show in renewal hours online.

6. What if I take a class not listed or was out of state?

  • If a class is approved by another state for EMS credit, Maine will accept the credits on an hour for hour basis. Submit proof of completion and the state approval number with your renewal application. It will not show in renewal hours online.
  • If not CAPCE approved, please call Maine EMS for guidance prior to the course.

7. Can I receive CEH credits for time attending a licensure class?

I was deployed in the National Guard or US Armed Forces Reserve

If you are a member of the National Guard or the reserves of the United States Armed Forces and have been deployed, special circumstances may apply.

If you have been deployed for more than 30 days and have been licensed by Maine EMS for more than 30 days, you may been entitled to an automatic extension of your EMS license. Please review the Maine Statue found at http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/37-b/title37-Bsec390-A.html