TROOPER APPLICATIONS ARE STILL BEING ACCEPTED
Yes!! We are still accepting applications for the Trooper position!!
We want all interested candidates to continue to apply for the Trooper position during this time. We will be temporarily waiving the requirement of providing a copy of the physical fitness and the ALERT test due the cancelation of testing by the Maine Criminal Justice Academy, in accordance with CDC and Maine guidelines to COVID-19. All applications received during this period will be held until we are able to resume the hiring process. We will coordinate with all applicants who are unable to provide physical fitness and ALERT testing results once testing becomes available. Cover letters should include a statement regarding being unable to provide a copy of the physical fitness and ALERT testing results since testing has been canceled due to COVID-19 guidelines. Please also upload the cover letter in lieu of ALERT and physical fitness scores in the appropriate sections in the application.
If you have the results for these tests, please continue to upload in the appropriate location.
Do you qualify?
The Maine State Police is looking for qualified people interested in joining the ranks of an elite group of men and women who have dedicated their lives to a career of public service. If you think you are qualified to meet the challenge of being a State Trooper, contact the State Police training office for additional information.
Age: Applicants must be at least 21 years of age (or 20 years of age with 60 college credits) prior to entrance into Basic Law Enforcement Training at the Maine Criminal Justice Academy.
Education: An applicant must be a high school graduate or hold an equivalency certificate (GED) issued by the State Department of Education.
Conduct: Reputation must be above reproach. Applicants must have no serious criminal or extensive motor vehicle records.
Physical: You must be in adequate physical condition to perform the duties of a State Trooper.
The following standards are the basic entrance standards needed to apply to the Maine State Police. A copy of your results for the physical fitness test and the ALERT test are required with your application.
50% Maine State Police Standards
|1.5 Mile Run||11:58||12:25||13:11||14:16|
|1 Min. Sit-Ups||40||36||31||26|
|1 Min. Push-ups||33||27||21||15|
|1.5 Mile Run||14:07||14:35||15:24||17:13|
|1 Min. Sit-Ups||35||27||22||17|
|1 Min. Push-Ups||18||14||11||5|
If your age bracket is not listed, please call us to determine what your standards are.
A valid driver's license upon employment is required.