Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Visitors to the Maine Criminal Justice Academy are required to wear masks / facecoverings until further notice.

 

Read an update on 2021 mandatory law enforcement training here.

 

We have resumed some classes here at the Academy; all classes will adhere to Covid-19 precautions.

 

There will be no lodging available at the Academy during these classes.

 

The following classes are scheduled:

 

 

November 30 - December 3, Crime Scene Processing, MCJA (class full)

 

December 7 - 18, Methods of Instruction, MCJA

 

December 14 - 15, ARIDE, Old Orchard Beach

 

January 4 - 15, LEPS Phase II, MCJA

 

January 4 - 8, Breath Testing Device Instructor Development, MCJA

 

January 4 - 5, ARIDE, Wells

 

January 25 - 29, New Chiefs and Sheriffs Seminar, MCJA

 

We will begin scheduling ALERT, Phase I written exams and Physical Fitness Testing on a limited basis, on Tuesdays and Thursdays, beginning December 1, 2020.

 

For ALERT testing, please schedule an appointment by contacting Karen Green at (207)877-8003, or karen.l.green@maine.gov

 

For Phase I written exams and physical fitness testing, please schedule an appointment by contacting Joshua Daley @ (207)877-8020, or joshua.daley@maine.gov

 

Physical Fitness Testing opportunities may also be conducted by agencies with Academy-certified PFT evaluators, off-site, with a memorandum of understanding.

 

We will post when more classes are added.

 

Please follow news and events information on the MCJA's Facebook page, here.

 

 

Welcome to the Maine Criminal Justice Academy website.

 

This website is provided as a service to the law enforcement and corrections agencies, their officers and the citizens of the State of Maine. Click on your area of interest on the left side of the screen to see additional menu items. We want your visit to our page to be as "user friendly" as possible. If you have any questions, comments or suggestions, please contact us. If you would like information on how to become a law enforcement officer in the state of Maine, or you are a full time officer from another state and would like information on our waiver process please click on the link below our contact information.

Maine Criminal Justice Academy
15 Oak Grove Road
Vassalboro, Maine 04989

Phone: (207) 877-8000
Fax: (207) 877-8027

 

How do I become a law enforcement officer in Maine?

 

Basic Law Enforcement Training Program Waiver Process

 

[Maine Criminal Justice Academy]

 

Alert and Physical Fitness Tests at MCJA and Off Campus Locations

At MCJA, for the Alert Test, arrive at 0745 hours and Physical Fitness Test will follow. Those taking only the PT Test should arrive at 0900. The Phase I Exam will be available and will start at 1200 hours. Lunch is not provided if you are taking the Alert, PT and Phase 1 exam, you should consider bringing a bag lunch.

In Southern Maine: Arrive at 1230, testing will begin at 1300 (1:00 p.m.) In 2020, the Alert Test will be given at York Police Department, 9 Hannaford Drive, York, ME.

Pre-registration is required to take tests, and can be made by calling the Academy's central office at 877-8000.

Fees for the ALERT and Physical Fitness Tests are listed on the application form, below.

 

Application Forms:   Alert Test    Physical Fitness Test    Phase I    Phase II

View the physical fitness standards here.

Watch a video of the physical fitness test instructions here.

 

  Dates and Locations of Alert and PT Testing

 

Maine Criminal Justice Academy

15 Oak Grove Road         

Vassalboro, Maine 04989  

Both Alert & PT Tests  

Maine Criminal Justice Academy

15 Oak Grove Road         

Vassalboro, Maine 04989   

Both Alert & PT Tests

Gorham Police Department (2019)

York Police Department (2020)

ALERT TEST ONLY

We Do Not offer PT testing off site

2020
     
January
8 22 14
February
12 NONE 11
March
4 NONE NONE
April
NONE NONE NONE
May
NONE NONE NONE
June
TBD TBD TBD