If you are interested in becoming a Law Enforcement Officer in the State of Maine here is information that will guide you.

http://www.maine.gov/dps/mcja/

You first must meet the prerequisites.  You can find these on our website at “Maine Criminal Justice Academy”.    http://www.maine.gov/dps/mcja/   You must meet the age and education requirements listed.  You must also take and pass the Physical Fitness Test.  You can find this information on our website under the frequently asked questions.

Age:		21 years old, or 20 years old with at least 60 credits from an accredited
college, or age 19, currently enrolled in an accredited post secondary education program, with at least 40 credit hours. *Copies of transcripts or current grade reports required with the application for those under 21.

Law enforcement Pre-Service Course:  By Maine State Statute, this course is required in the state of Maine to carry a firearm on duty and to have powers of arrest.  When applying for a law enforcement position most agencies will require you to have completed Phase I and Phase II of the Pre-Service Course.  You should check with the agency that you are applying to for their hiring process.  You can visit our website page at http://www.maine.gov/dps/mcja/training/preservice/index.htm Here you will find a list of upcoming classes, as well as a place to download applications which will explain the process to apply to this course. The Pre-Service Course is a three phase program.   Phase I is a 40-hour online training that you will complete on your own. Once you complete this course you will need to schedule a final exam.  This exam will take place at the Maine Criminal Justice Academy.  Phase II is an 80-hour classroom based training with most classes running Monday thru Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm for two weeks.  There are several prerequisites required before you will be accepted into this class. These courses are listed on our website, and the Phase II application will explain the process to apply.  Phase III is completed once you are hired by a Law Enforcement Agency as a Law Enforcement Officer.  

You will get a course completion certificate at the end of Phase II.  This will allow you to apply at Law Enforcement Agencies to work as a Law Enforcement Officer on either a Part Time, or Full Time Basis.  A Law Enforcement Agency is required to send the Criminal Justice Academy a Notice of Employment Form and a Firearms Qualification Form when they hire an employee as a Law Enforcement Officer.  Once the Academy receives this information we will issue a Provisional Certificate. This certificate will allow you to work as a Law Enforcement Officer until you complete Phase III with your hiring agency.  You can only be Certified as a Law Enforcement Officer if you are actively employed by a Law Enforcement Agency as a Law Enforcement Officer.  Once your employment is terminated, you are no longer a Certified Officer. If you are hired by an agency as a full time law enforcement officer you will need to attend the 18-week Basic Law Enforcement Training Program within one year of employment.  This 18-week program is a residential program.  

Basic Law Enforcement Training Program:  The Basic Law Enforcement Training Program is an 18-week residential program.  You will be required to arrive at the academy early Monday morning, and will be in training until Friday late afternoon when you will be released to go home.  

You can apply to the Criminal Justice Academy as a tuition student.  You can find the application which explains the requirements, cost, application, and deadline dates on our website on the “Forms” page.  The financial responsibility for this training will be the students.  This includes a polygraph examination, psychological testing, medical examination, Background Investigation and tuition for the course.  You will also be required to complete the application process along with interviews and meeting physical agility testing requirements. You must pass all the requirement standards to be accepted into the training program.  Please see the “Tuition Application Packet” for detailed information. 

If you are hired by a Law Enforcement Agency as a Full Time Law Enforcement Officer, your hiring agency must enroll you in the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program within one year of employment.  You must meet all the requirements as stated above including the physical agility standards.  If you do not meet and pass all requirement standards you will not be accepted into the training program.  

Please visit our website for more information.  If you open applications they will explain the process to apply to each course.  Also please visit our “FAQ” frequently asked questions page.  After reviewing all of the above information if you have specific questions, please contact the academy and they will direct you to someone who can answer your questions.

http://www.maine.gov/dps/mcja/


 

