Inter-Facility Transport Committee

Membership and Meetings

The Interfacility Transport Advisory Committee aims to improve the transport of patients of all ages during non-911 medical needs. Moving patients to acute care hospitals from smaller critical access facilities, to the "routine" transport of non-emergency patients who need higher levels of care and transport to the emergency movement of patients throughout Maine and beyond. Meetings are held as needed.  This committee was re-established by the Maine EMS Board in March of 2021 and defined further in August of 2021.  Recruitment efforts will soon be underway.  Please call 207-626-3860 for information about the date and time of the next meeting.

All meetings are open to the public, with the exception of those portions that may be conducted in executive session in accordance with Maine Law 32 M.R.S.A. § 90-A(3) and 1 M.R.S.A. § 405(6)(E) & (F)

All meetings are held at Maine EMS, 45 Commerce Drive, Suite 1, Augusta, ME 04333.  Meetings are typically held in the Champlain conference room.  Directions are located here.


A variety of resources related to Interfacility Transport can be found here.

Interfacility Transport Committee Members

The chair of the IFT Committee is to be determined once the committee is fully formed.

Name Position
Tim Beals Maine EMS Board Representative
Matt Sholl, MD MDPB Representative
Pete Tilney, MD MDPB Representative
vacant Fire Based EMS Service performing IFTs
vacant Fire Based EMS Service performing IFTs
vacant Non-Fire Based EMS Service performing IFTs
vacant Non-Fire Based EMS Service performing IFTs
vacant EMS Transfer Service
vacant EMS Critical Care Transport Service
Marc Minkler Maine EMS Staff