John Lewis Youth Leadership Award

The John Lewis Leadership Award is named for the late Congressman John Lewis, who was known for his courageous achievements during the Civil Rights Movement and his long tenure of public service. The National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) established this award in February 2021, inviting Secretaries to recognize a gifted, civic-minded young person in their state each year.

Through this award, the Maine Secretary of State's Office will annually recognize one Maine resident, age 25 or younger, who demonstrates leadership abilities, has passion for social justice, and is improving the quality of life in their community.

All nominations should be sent in digital format via email to no later than May 5, 2023. The Secretary of State's Office will choose a winner of the John Lewis Youth Leadership Award from among all submissions, to receive a recognition plaque and presentation of the award from Secretary Bellows.


The recipient must be 25 years or younger at the time of the award presentation.

The recipient is recognized in their community for being civic-minded and improving the quality of life in their community. The community must be in the awarding NASS Member's state/territory.

The recipient has shown a meaningful commitment to address civil rights issues, including but not limited to voting rights, and to authentically bring about positive change in his or her community.

Examples could include youth leadership in a specific project or program, advocacy, or even literature as the Congressman also won a National Book Award for young people's literature.

Supporting Materials:

John Lewis Youth Leadership Award  - Nomination Form
Please save the form to your device before completing. Attach the completed form to your emailed submission.

Up to ten pages of supporting materials, including news releases, news articles, or social media posts may be included as part of your submission, as long as they are digitized (no hard copies, please).

For more information, visit the NASS John Lewis Youth Leadership Award webpage