State Emergency Response Team

When the State is responding to a major emergency, coordination among all the responding departments is critical.

The State Emergency Response Team (ERT) is made up of representatives from State agencies and the American Red Cross. ERT members relay information to their personnel in the field, receive information from field units, and can commit their agencies' resources to respond to a County request.  Agency representatives are also asked to participate in training and exercises, and assist with state emergency operations planning.

The ERT has been created by Executive Order. Sixteen agencies are named in the Order, but additional members may be added at the discretion of the MEMA Director as Chair:

  • Maine Emergency Management Agency (chair)
  • Department of Administrative and Financial Services
  • Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry
  • Department of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Environmental Protection
  • Department of Health and Human Services
  • Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife
  • Department of Labor
  • Department of Marine Resources
  • Department of Public Safety
  • Department of Transportation
  • Maine Turnpike Authority
  • Public Utilities Commission
  • American Red Cross
  • The Governor’s Office

For more information:

Governor's Executive Order: State Emergency Response and Disaster Recovery Teams (PDF)
An order updating the state of Maine Emergency Response and Disaster Recovery Teams