Educator Preparation Program Contacts

Approved Educator Preparation Programs and Contacts

The following is a list of Maine educator preparation program contacts. Maine Community College System Education Program information can be found at the bottom of this page.

Anita Charles
Director of Teacher Education
Associate Chair, Education Department
Bates College
Lewiston, ME 04240
207-786-8349
acharles@bates.edu

Doris A. Santoro
Associate Professor of Education & Chair
Bowdoin College
7400 College Station. Brunswick, ME 04011-8474
207-798-4145
dsantoro@bowdoin.edu

Mark B. Tappan
Professor and Director of Education
Colby College
4426 Mayflower Hill, Waterville, ME 04901-8844 
207-859-4426
mark.tappan@colby.edu

Bonnie Tai 戴豪 
Director of Educational Studies
College of the Atlantic
105 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-801-5703
btai@coa.edu

Cynthia Geaghan or Jane Loxterkamp
Co-Chairs of the Education Program
Eastern Maine Community College
Katahdin Hall, Bangor, ME 04401
207.974.4713 or 207.974.4812
cgeaghan@emcc.edu or jloxterkamp@emcc.edu

Travis Allen
Chair of the School of Education
Husson University
1 College Circle, Bangor, ME 04401
207.941.7130
allentr@husson.edu

Rachel E. Somerville
Chair of Art Education
Maine College of Art
522 Congress St., Portland, ME 04101
800-639-4808
 

Kathleen Kiley Clements
Director of Teacher Education
Saint Joseph’s College
278 Whites Bridge Road, Standish, ME 04084-5236
207- 893-7926
kkclements@sjcme.edu

Barbara Blackstone
Chair, College of Professional Programs
University of Maine at Presque Isle
Presque Isle, Me 04769  
207-768-9415
barbara.blackstone@maine.edu

Pamela Thompson
Chair of the School of Education
Thomas College
180 W River Rd, Waterville, ME 04901
207-859-1333
thompsonp@thomas.edu

Audrey Bartholomew
Chair, Education Department
University of New England
11 Hills Beach Rd, Biddeford, ME 04005
207-602-2685
abartholomew1@une.edu

Cindy Dean
Associate Professor of Education/Coordinator of Teacher Education
University of Maine at Augusta
46 University Drive, Augusta, ME
207-621-3192
cynthia.dean@maine.edu

Katherine W. Yardley
Associate Provost
University of Maine at Farmington
186 High Street, Farmington, ME 04938
207-778-7154
kyardley@maine.edu

Heather L. Ball
Education Program Coordinator
University of Maine at Machias
116 O'Brien Avenue, Machias, ME 04654
(207) 255-1381
hball@maine.edu

Mary Mahoney-O'Neil
Associate Dean of Academic Services
University of Maine
101 Shibles Hall, Orono, ME 04469
207-581-2412
maryellen.mahoneyoneil@maine.edu

Flynn Ross
Chair, Teacher Education
University of Southern Maine
221 Bailey Hall, Gorham Campus
207-780-5786
flynn.ross@maine.edu 

 

Maine Community College System Education Programs

Students can also prepare for a career in education at a Maine community college. Maine's community colleges offer programs in early childhood education as well as a flexible liberal studies degree. The colleges have transfer agreements with Maine's universities and many other four-year colleges. For more information, see the Maine Community College System website.