ESEA Federal Programs

Overview

The Maine Department of Education (DOE) is responsible for the oversight and monitoring of programs and activities carried out under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA).

The Maine DOE has adopted a consolidated approach to the ESEA federal funding application, providing ongoing regional support, and monitoring local educational agencies (LEAs), both to ensure compliance with federal laws and to support the effective implementation of local programs. The following programs are included within Maine DOE's consolidated ESEA program application and monitoring systems: Title I, Part A; Titel I, Part D; Title II, Part A; Title III, Part A; Title IV, Part A, and Title V.

Mission

The mission of the ESEA Federal Programs Team is to ensure that ESEA Federal Programs in Maine provide all children significant opportunity to receive a fair, equitable, and high-quality education and close educational achievement gaps. 

Stakeholders

The ESSA Advisory Committee advises the Maine DOE is carrying out its responsibilities under Every Student Succeeds Act of 2015. It operates to identify issues across regions of the state and facilitate two-way communication between Maine DOE and the preK-12 education community throughout Maine. 

ESSA Advisory Members

ESEA Programs Team
 

Chelsey Fortin-Trimble
Director, Federal Programs and Title I
phone: 207-624-6815
chelsey.a.fortin@maine.gov


Travis Doughty
State Coordinator, Title IV Programs
phone: 207-624-6709
travis.doughty@maine.gov


Chelsey Fortin-Trimble
Acting Title II/ State Ombudsman
phone: 207-624-6815
chelsey.fortin@maine.gov


Daniel Weeks
Title V Coordinator & Title I Data Specialist
phone: 207-624-6749
daniel.weeks@maine.gov


April Perkins
Director of ESOL/Bilingual Programs & Title III
phone: 207-624-6627
april.perkins@maine.gov


Jackie Godbout
Title I Program Consultant
phone: 207-624-6712
jackie.godbout@maine.gov


Penny Henry
ESEA Data Coordinator
phone: 207-624-6855
penny.henry@maine.gov


Teri Peaslee
School Supports Professional Development Coordinator
phone: 207-624-6706
teri.peaslee@maine.gov


Cristy Osier
Office Associate II
phone: 207-624-6705
cristy.osier@maine.gov