Education In Unorganized Territory (EUT)

Maine School MapPursuant to 2001, c. 454, §11 (AMD), children who reside with a parent in the unorganized territory or who are resident emancipated minors or residents at least 18 years old are eligible to attend elementary and secondary schools and to receive appropriate special education and related services without charge to themselves or their parents. Education must be provided in alignment with the system of learning results as established in section 6209 under the direction of the commissioner and must meet the general standards for elementary and secondary schooling and special education established.

Definitions:

  • Unorganized territory - territory not part of a municipality.
  • Unorganized unit - an unorganized township, gore, strip, tract, surplus, point, patent, peninsula, island, deorganized town or plantation or any other distinct portion of the unorganized territory.

Learn more about Maine Statues for Education in Unorganized Territory: Title 20-A, Chapter 119: Unorganized Territory

State Administrators

Mailing Address: 23 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0023
Fax: 624-6891

Shelley Lane
Director of State Schools
Shelley.B.Lane@maine.gov
207-592-2452

Rhonda Casey
Business Manager
Rhonda.Casey@maine.gov
207-624-6894

Barbara Pineau
Special Education Director
Barbara.L.Pineau@maine.gov
207 592-2486

Cathy Severance
Secretary
Cathy.G.Severance@maine.gov
207-624-6892

Susan Wilson
Account Clerk
Susan.Wilson@maine.gov
207-624-6893

Schools

Connor Consolidated School 
Heather Anderson, Principal
1581 Van Buren Road
Connor Township, ME 04736
207-496-4521
handerson@connor.eut.k12.me.us

Edmunds Consolidated School
Trudy Newcomb, Principal
1 Harrison Road
Edmunds Township, ME 04628
207-726-4478
trudynewcomb_ecs@yahoo.com

Kingman Elementary School
Rhonda Irish, Principal
25 Park Street
Kingman, ME 04451
207-765-2500
rirish@kingman.eut.k12.me.us

Job Openings:

Substitute Teachers, Cooks, and Bus Drivers are always needed. Please contact the principal of each school if you are interested in subbing.