The Leadership team at the Maine Department of Education is working to build an agency that supports schools and educators across the state in their mission to help all students reach their potential and leave school prepared for work, life, and post-secondary education opportunities.

Commissioner’s Office

  • Robert Hasson, Commissioner
  • Suzan Beaudoin, Deputy Commissioner
  • Deb Plowman, Legislative Director
  • Jaci Holmes, Federal Liaison
  • Mary Paine, Chief of Planning & Implementation
  • Jennifer Tarr, Chief of Staff
  • Rachel Paling, Director of Communications

    Facilities, Safety & Transportation

    • Scott Brown, Director
    • Ann Pinnette, Facilities Safety and Transportation

      School & Student Supports

      • Gayle Erdheim, Bullying Prevention, Migrant, Truancy, Homeless Students
      • Emily Poland, Coordinated School Health

        Higher Ed. & Educator Support Services

        • Angel Loredo, Director
        • Stephanie Fyfe, Certification
        • Gail Senese, Adult Education
        • Jason Libby, Higher Education
        • Emily Gribben, Educator Effectiveness

          Learning Systems

          • Paul Hambleton, Chief Academic Officer
          • Janette Kirk, Deputy Director
          • Chelsey Fortin-Trimble, ESEA Federal Programs & Title I
          • Lee Anne Larsen, Early Learning
          • Beth Lambert, Secondary Education & Integrated Instruction
          • Andrew Hudacs, State Assessment
          • Margaret Harvey, Career and Technical Education

            School Finance & Operations

            • Joanne Allen, Director
            • Pamela Ford-Taylor, School Approval & Student Enrollment
            • Tyler Backus, School Finance, Compliance and Governance
            • Charlotte Ellis, Data Management
            • Walter Beesley, Child Nutrition

              Special Services

              • Jan Breton, Director
              • Mary Adley, SPPS, State Agency Client/State Ward, Significant Disproportionality
              • Roberta Lucas, Special Services for Public Schools
              • Jeannette Sedgwick, Special Projects, Due Process & Dyslexia
              • Barbara A. McGowen, Finance Coordinator
              • Roy Fowler, Child Development Services