Home → Programs & Resources → Educational Programs → Safety Courses
Recreational Safety Courses
Completing a recreational safety course is an important step to preparing for a lifetime of safe and enjoyable outdoor adventures in Maine and beyond.
The Department offers recreational safety courses in the following disciplines: firearms hunting, bowhunting, crossbow hunting, trapping, ATV, snowmobile and boating.
If you are unable to find a course in your area or if you have questions about completing a course, please contact the Recreational Safety Office at 207-287-5220.
Hunting, Trapping, and Shooting Sports
In Maine, hunters and trappers must attend approved training courses specific to the license or permit type they wish to purchase. By state law, anyone planning to buy a hunting license, archery hunting license, crossbow permit, or trapping license, must complete the respective hunter, archery, crossbow, or trapper education course. Individuals may purchase each of these licenses by showing a certificate of completion from the appropriate course, or a previously issued license of the same type.
If you would like to refresh your knowledge of safe and responsible hunting, then taking a hunter education course is a great idea.
We recognize that continuing education is important and we suggest that all (Firearms) Hunter Safety participants consider a Firearms Fundamentals course as a great way to gain more firearms specific skills and education. While this is not required, it is a valuable experience for hunters and recreational shooters. There are courses for pistol, rifle, or shotgun.
Students who wish to learn about the safe operation of snowmobiles, boats, or ATV's can complete one of the many courses offered by the Department each year. Boating safety courses are also provided by the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliaries and by U.S. Power Squadrons around the state.
Note: In order to operate an ATV under 16 years of age, a rider must complete an approved ATV Safety Course.
ATV Safety Institute Riders Course
The ATV Rider course may be taken as a legal alternative of the course offered by the Department. For information on the ASI Course, see atvsafety.org - Select ATV Rider Course, Click on Online Enrollment, and follow prompts for information on requirements.
Note: The ATV Safety Institute E-Course is not recognized by the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife.
Are you an avid outdoors person? Do you like to teach or mentor others in outdoor pursuits? We need you!
We are seeking outdoor enthusiasts that would like to join our growing team of volunteer instructors.
The Recreational Safety unit leads safety courses in 7 disciplines: Hunter Safety, Bowhunter, Crossbow, Trapping, ATV, Boating, and Snowmobile, as well as other educational programs. Our certified volunteer instructors meet state and international standards and provide valuable information and training experiences to new outdoor users.
To become a certified volunteer instructor, an individual must:
- Successfully complete the basic course as a student in the discipline they’d like to lead
- Be at least 18 years old with a clean record.
- Complete an instructor training course or workshop (may include shadowing an instructor)
- Complete the appropriate volunteer application and written exam.
For more information, please contact the Recreational Safety Division at (207) 287-5220 or email the Recreational Safety Supervisor at firstname.lastname@example.org
Lost your Hunter Safety Card or other state issued course certification?
The Department keeps records of all graduates from previous safety courses. If you've lost your hunter safety card or other discipline, you may obtain a duplicate by calling 207-287-5220 or emailing email@example.com.
You may also use the contact form below and submit electronically. Please note that these are handled individually, so allow approximately 24-48 business hours for a replacement card to be emailed, in addition to, mailed out once your information is submitted and verified.