ATV Safety

Riding an ATV can be a great way to enjoy the outdoors, whether it's in your own back yard, or exploring on the thousands of miles of trails available in Maine. ATV s (including UTV s and off road motorcycles) can also be useful around the woodlot or farm and let's face it, they're simply fun to ride! It's important to ride safely, responsibly, and to be prepared before you go. Many of Maine's ATV trails reside on private land. Respecting these generous private landowners by riding responsibly is critical to maintaining trail access in Maine. Educating yourself before you go is an important component of being a safe and responsible offroad operator.

In Maine, youth ages 10 to under 16, must successfully complete an approved ATV Safety Certification course to legally operate on land other than their own. Anyone 16 years of age or older is encouraged to take the course to be educated and prepared for safe riding.

The ATV Safety Course is available in two different formats: online and in-person.

Online

Students 12 and older can complete the Official Maine ATV/Snowmobile Safety course online at offroad-ed.com/maine. The cost to register for the online course is $34.95. Upon successful completion of the online course, students will receive their Maine ATV/Snowmobile Safety Certification card that may be printed or you may order one through the provider. This course combines both ATV and Snowmobile content, and while snowmobile education is not mandated by law, it's simply good to have as many that ride ATV s also ride snowmobiles.

Start Now

In-person

In-person courses are available to all students ages 10 and up, and are taught by certified volunteer instructors. The in-person course uses the "Today's Rider" student manual and provides the opportunity to ask questions of instructors and gain further guidance. There is typically no fee to complete a traditional in-person course, although some course hosts require a nominal fee to help cover facility rental or cleaning costs. Please note: Maine continues to offer in-person courses in ATV certification, or snowmobile certification, and some courses are combined courses where the student will earn both. (Check the course listing to find the course you prefer.)

Total Course = 6 hours

  • Proper Operation and Safety (Riding Skill-Equipment-Maintenance) = 2 Hours
  • Laws = 1/2 Hour
  • Emergencies & Survival = 40 Minutes
  • Map & Compass = 1 Hour
  • Self Help First Aid = 20 Minutes
  • Environmental/Landowner/Ethics = 1 1/2 Hours

New courses will be posted below as they become available.

Current Courses

County Location Contact Date/Time Info
York Limington - Old Limington Town Hall Lisa Gagnon - (207) 766-1744 or atv.safety411@gmail.com for questions/information only June 30, 8am-4pm


Register online

York Limington - Old Limington Town Hall Lisa Gagnon - (207) 766-1744 or atv.safety411@gmail.com for questions/information only August 25, 8am-4pm


Register online

Sagadahoc Topsham - MOMS Darcey Emery - (207) 699-9623 or darceyemery@gmail.com for questions/information June 24, 9am-4pm


Register online Combo ATV/Snowmobile Course - $10.00 due day of class - Lunch is provided

Aroostook Stockholm - Sportsman's Inc Ron Ericson (president) - (207) 551-4494 or rericson@msad45.org for questions/information June 29, 9am-5pm


Register online Combo ATV/Snowmobile Course

Aroostook Easton - Easton Recreation Hillary Hallett - (207) 488-6601 for questions/information August 31, 8:30am-4:30pm


Register online Combo ATV/Snowmobile Course

Somerset Cambridge - Cambridge Town Office Charles Shaffer - (207) 446-4132 or Charles.B.Shaffer@maine.gov for questions/information June 29, 9am-3pm


Register online

Somerset Hartland - Hartland Fire House Tim Gerrish (858) 395-9949 or tgerrish54@gmail.com for questions/information June 29, 8am-4pm


Register online

Oxford Hartford - Hartford Town Office Darcey Emery - (207) 699-9623 or darceyemery@gmail.com for questions/information July 28, 9am-4pm


Register online Combo ATV/Snowmobile Course- $10/student - Lunch provided

Penobscot Enfield - The Montague Trail Master Justin - (207) 290-5992 to register July 14 9am-3pm

Can't find a course for your area? Contact the Recreational Safety Division Office at (207) 287-5220.

Students must be at least nine years old to attend the in-person course, students under 16 years of age must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.

When registering either by telephone or email, please be sure to include your full name, telephone number, and which course, date and location you are signing up for.