FEMA Individual Assistance Information

Five Maine counties have received an Individual Assistance disaster declaration from the December 2023 severe storm and flood. This will allow Mainers in Androscoggin, Franklin, Kennebec, Oxford, and Somerset Counties to apply for financial assistance for certain losses.

The fastest way to apply is through DisasterAssistance.gov. You can also apply through the FEMA mobile app or by calling the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362. If you use a video relay service, captioned telephone service, or other communication services, please provide FEMA the specific number assigned for that service.

To locate a FEMA Disaster Recovery Center, visit DisasterAssistance.gov, call 800-621-3362, or text “DRC” and your zip code to 43362.

The deadline to apply for disaster assistance is April 1, 2024.

Disaster Survivor Assistance teams from FEMA are going door-to-door in pre-identified hard-hit areas of Androscoggin, Franklin, Kennebec, Oxford, and Somerset counties to help survivors register for assistance. The FEMA team canvasing will help individuals register for assistance and answer questions. Disaster Survivor Assistance teams will show you official FEMA photo identification to prove their identity. Do not let anyone in your home who does not show proper credentials if you don’t know them. Please note that FEMA teams will never solicit for donations.

Assistance may be available for:

  • Rental assistance
  • Lodging expense reimbursement
  • Home repair
  • Home replacement
  • Direct housing
  • Loss of personal property including, but not limited to
    • Furnishings, appliances, essential tools, and assistive equipment that supports daily living activities.
  • Medical and Dental services that were necessary because of the storm.
  • Funeral expenses
  • Child Care costs incurred as a result of the disaster.
  • Repair or replacement of vehicles
  • Moving and storage expenses
  • Cleaning and removal of contaminants
  • Other critical needs for those who are displaced for their primary dwelling.

Non-monetary services:

  • Crisis counseling
  • Disaster unemployment
  • Disaster Legal Services
  • Disaster Case Management

Eligibility Criteria for Housing and Other Needs Assistance:

  • Your disaster losses must be in a Presidentially declared disaster area;
  • A member of your household must be a United States citizen, a non-citizen national, or a qualified alien;
  • You have necessary expenses or serious needs as a result of the disaster that are not covered by insurance, or you filed an insurance claim but your benefits are not enough to cover your expenses, or your damage was not covered by insurance or other sources.

Maximum Award: $42,500

The Individual Assistance Program is not intended to make survivors whole. It is to assist with immediate needs resulting from a disaster.

FEMA also works with the Small Business Administration which in some cases can provide additional assistance through low-interest loans. For more information visit www.sba.gov.