Property Tax Division

Contact Information

The Property Tax Division is divided into two units:

Municipal Services and the Unorganized Territory

Our division is responsible for the determination of the annual equalized full value (state valuation) for the 484 incorporated municipalities as well as for the unorganized territory. The state valuation is a basis for the allocation of money appropriated for state general purpose aid for education, state revenue sharing, and for county assessments.

We administer the real estate transfer tax, commercial forestry excise tax, controlling interest transfer tax, and telecommunications business equipment tax and we determine annually the amount of tax reimbursement to each town for veteran, homestead, and animal waste facility exemptions, and tree growth tax loss reimbursement.

Our office is also staffed to administer and oversee the property tax administration in the unorganized territory.

Assessor Information

Property Tax Educational Programs

  • Maine Property Tax Institute - May 20-22, 2020, Newry (This event is canceled, due to the COVID-19 outbreak) 
  • IAAO Course - October, 2020, Portland

Certified Maine Assessor (CMA) Exams

Report on Guidance for Determining Valuation and Assessement of Renewable Energy Facilities that Qualify for Exemption - December 1, 2019

Business Equipment Tax Exemption (BETE) and Business Equipment Tax Reimbursement (BETR) Programs

Important Notice About Property Taxes For Buyer and Sellers of Real Estate

Follow us on Follow us on YouTube