Property Tax

Popular Information

Contact Information

The Property Tax Division is divided into two units:

Municipal Services and the Unorganized Territory

Our division is responsible for the determination of the annual equalized full value (state valuation) for the 482 incorporated municipalities as well as for the unorganized territory. The state valuation is a basis for the allocation of money appropriated for state general purpose aid for education, state revenue sharing, and for county assessments.

We administer the real estate transfer tax, commercial forestry excise tax, controlling interest transfer tax, and telecommunications business equipment tax and we determine annually the amount of tax reimbursement to each town for veteran, homestead, and animal waste facility exemptions, and tree growth tax loss reimbursement.

Our office is also staffed to administer and oversee the property tax administration in the unorganized territory.

State Property Tax Deferral Program

Property Tax Stabilization Program

Assessor Information

Property Tax Law Changes, 2023

New veteran benefit. In 2022, the Maine Legislature enacted an expanded benefit for veterans through the Property Tax Fairness credit. While this benefit is based on the property tax paid by veterans, the benefit is administered through the individual income tax. For more information, see the Property Tax Fairness credit.

Property Tax Educational Programs - 2024

  • 2024 Property Tax School: July 29 - August 2, 2024, University of Maine at Augusta | Save the Date | Registration

  • IAAO Course 601 - Cadastral Mapping Methods & Applications: October 21-25, 2024, Brewer | Registration

Certified Maine Assessor (CMA) Exams

Important Notice About Property Taxes For Buyers and Sellers of Real Estate (PDF)