Governor’s Task Force on All-Terrain Vehicle Trail Initiatives

ATVs on trail

ATV use is rapidly increasing in Maine, and with registrations now totaling over 70,000 annually, Governor Janet Mills has created an ATV task force that will look at a variety of issues associated with the growth in ATV use in the state, including a focus on ATV use on private land. The task force is comprised of 14 members that represent landowners, farmers, government agencies, ATV owners and retailers, and snowmobile organizations.

Maine has over 6,000 miles of trails, yet with the increasing interest in ATV riding, there are concerns regarding ATV size, riding on private land without permission, and environmental damage.

The task force will also be looking at expanding the existing trail system with consideration to private landowners, the growing size of ATVs and their impact; discuss maintenance and trail standards for the trail system; developing a communications and outreach plan with a focus on landowner relations; discussing registration requirements based on size and value; and discussing funding for the oversight, construction and maintenance of the trail system.

The task force has been charged by the legislature to submit its recommendations to the Governor on or before January 1, 2020.

Public Comment

The ATV Task Force would like to thank all of you who have submitted public comment. We received comments from over 1,000 people on the six Task Force objectives. The ATV Task Force will now review all submitted comments, and incorporate your input into our report to the Governor. We have now closed the public comment link on our website but please contact any of the task force members listed below if you have any additional thoughts. Thank you.

Task Force Meetings

Meetings of the ATV Task Force are open to members of the public. Upcoming meeting dates, locations and agendas will be posted here as they’re available as well as summaries from previous meetings.

ATV Task Force Members

Position Name Organization E-mail
Chair Timothy Peabody Maine Dept. of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife (IFW)
Large Forest Landowner / Task Force Co-Chair John Bryant American Forest Management
Large Forest Landowner Matt Stedman Irving Woodlands
Statewide Forest Products Organization Kyle Burdick Maine Forest Products Council - Baskehegan Company
Statewide Small Woodlot Organization Tom Doak Maine Woodlands Owners
Large Farmland Owner Jim Sinclair Allen's Blueberries
Statewide Farming Organization Julie Ann Smith Maine Farm Bureau
Utility Corridor Owner Brian Berube Central Maine Power
Land Trust Organization David Montague Downeast Lakes Land Trust
Statewide ATV Organization Dick Howlett ATV Maine - John Raymond is the alternate
Combination ATV/Snowmobile Club David Jones Jackman Border Riders Club
Maine ATV Dealer Ian Bourgoin Fort Kent Powersports
Statewide Snowmobile Organization Bob Meyers Maine Snowmobile Association
Maine Dept. of ACF - ATV Program Brian Bronson Recreational Vehicle - ATV Coordinator
Maine Dept. of IF&W David Chabot Corporal - Landowner Relations (retired)