COVID19 Prevention Checklist Industry Guidance
Last updated: Oct 9, 2020
The State of Maine has adopted a staged approach, supported by science, public health expertise, and industry collaboration, to allow Maine businesses to safely open when the time is right. The plan is available at www.maine.gov/covid19/restartingmaine.
This is one of many industry guidance documents the State is preparing for businesses so they can be prepared to meet health guidelines and reopen safely. Please make sure you pair this document with the general guidance document that applies to all industries, which is available on maine.gov/decd.
Please note: This document may be updated as additional information and resources become available.
Tattoo, Body Piercing, Electrolysis, and Micropigmentation Establishments
As of June 12, 2020, Tattoo, Body Piercing, Electrolysis, and Micropigmentation Establishments are permitted to operate in these Maine counties: Aroostook, Franklin, Hancock, Kennebec, Knox, Lincoln, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Sagadahoc, Somerset, Waldo, and Washington. They are permitted to open in Androscoggin, Cumberland, and York counties as of June 17, 2020.
General Guidance (Updated 6/10/20)
- Require all staff, vendors, and clients to maintain 6 feet of physical distance from individuals who are not part of their household group whenever possible.
- Require all staff, vendors, and clients to wear a face covering, per CDC recommendations and pertinent Executive Orders from the Office of the Governor.
- Information about proper use of face coverings is available from the CDC (see: Use of Cloth Face Coverings to Help Slow the Spread of COVID-19).
- The number of individuals that can gather in a shared space must not exceed the limit established by the Governor’s Executive Order.
- Maintaining physical distancing of 6 feet and wearing face coverings are the primary tools to avoid transmission of respiratory droplets between individuals. If a space cannot accommodate the gathering limit without complying with the six-foot distancing requirement, attendance must be limited to allow for such compliance.
Employees (Updated 10/9/20)
Employees must continue to follow all health, safety and cleaning rules set forth in Rules Relating to Tattooing 10-144 Chapter 210, and Rules Relating to Body Piercing 10-144 CMR 209.
- Establishment employees, including practicing owners, must wear surgical masks at all times (as long as there is not a facemask shortage situation for healthcare).
- Employees should wear face shields in addition to facemasks when servicing clients, if available. If face shields are not available, in order of preference, use goggles or eyeglasses.
- Consider providing physical barriers to protect customers and staff such as partitions or plexiglass barriers.
- Employees should wear gloves as required by Rules Relating to Tattooing 10-144 Chapter 210, and Rules Relating to Body Piercing 10-144 CMR 209. When servicing clients, change gloves between each client, and wash hands thoroughly for 20 seconds between clients and glove changes.
- Employees should consider whether they can work safely if they have any of these conditions and supervisors should discuss potential risks for individuals with the following:
- People 65 or older
- People who live in a nursing home or long-term care facility
- People of all ages with underlying medical conditions, particularly if not well controlled, including:
- People with chronic lung disease or moderate to severe asthma
- People who have serious heart conditions
- People who are immunocompromised: Many conditions can cause a person to be immunocompromised, including cancer treatment, smoking, bone marrow or organ transplantation, immune deficiencies, poorly controlled HIV or AIDS, and prolonged use of corticosteroids and other immune-weakening medications
- People with severe obesity (body mass index [BMI] of 40 or higher)
- People with diabetes
- People with chronic kidney disease undergoing dialysis
- People with liver disease
- Workers should stay at home if they are sick. Supervisors should ask all workers to self-screen for COVID-19 symptoms using either of the following approaches:
- Use an electronic or app-based self-screening form, such as the Coronavirus Self-Checker available on the federal CDC’s homepage.
- Self-screen using the following questions:
- Do you feel ill or are you caring for someone who is ill?
- In the past two weeks, have you been exposed to anyone who tested positive for COVID-19?
- Adjust training practices to limit the number of people involved and allow for 6-foot spacing; use virtual/video/audio training when possible.
- Provide employees training on:
- hand hygiene
- physical distancing guidelines and expectations
- monitoring personal health
- proper wear, removal, and disposal of personal protective equipment
- laundering of face coverings and uniforms: Cleaning and Disinfecting Your Facility, How to Disinfect: Laundry (CDC)
- cleaning protocols, including how to safely and effectively use cleaning supplies: Guidance for Cleaning and Disinfecting Public Spaces, Workplaces, Businesses, Schools and Homes (CDC)
- Consider employee training in safe de-escalation techniques.
Building Considerations (Updated 6/10/20)
- Take steps to improve ventilation in the building.
- Increase the percentage of outdoor air (e.g., using economizer modes of HVAC operations) potentially as high as 100% (first verify compatibility with HVAC system capabilities for both temperature and humidity control as well as compatibility with outdoor/indoor air quality considerations).
- Increase total airflow supply to occupied spaces, if possible.
- Disable demand-control ventilation (DCV) controls that reduce air supply based on temperature or occupancy.
- Consider using natural ventilation (i.e., opening windows if possible and safe to do so) to increase outdoor air dilution of indoor air when environmental conditions and building requirements allow.
- Take steps to ensure that all water systems and features (for example, drinking fountains) are safe to use after a prolonged facility shutdown to minimize the risk of Legionnaires’ disease and other diseases associated with water.
- Consider restricting the use of water fountains to refill only with instruction for individuals to wash or sanitize hands after use.
- Schedule appointments with adequate time in between appointments to reduce the number of clients in the establishment at a single time and to allow time to properly clean and disinfect in between clients.
- Employers are responsible for allowing their employees to have enough time to allow for proper disinfection without repercussions.
- Refer to the general guidance for screening questions for clients and customers
- See clients by appointment only.
- Schedule by telephone or online only.
- For contact tracing purposes, establishments should maintain a record including contact information for clients, and those personnel who had direct prolonged interaction with them.
Limit people in the establishment
- Maintain physical distancing in waiting areas or consider closing them entirely.
- Ask clients to wait outside in their vehicle or at least 6 feet apart outside the entrance door until their appointment.
- Remove extra items from waiting areas such as magazines and samples.
- Allow only one patron per service provider in the business at one time.
Maintain physical distancing at all times
- Spacing between persons within the establishment should be at least six feet, except when staff are servicing clients.
- Consider additional spacing between workstations, divider shields, and/or develop alternate work schedules to accomplish this.
- Client face coverings (Updated 10/9/20)
- Discourage, or remove from service offerings, any services on the face that would require clients to remove their face covering. If such services are offered, advise clients that removal of face coverings increases the risk of transmission of COVID-19 and confirm with the client that they consent to such services.
- All procedures requiring a customer to remove their mask must be performed by a single attendant wearing a surgical mask that completely covers the nose and mouth, and a face shield that extends below the chin. Employees who for medical reasons or otherwise cannot wear a source control mask and face shield cannot perform these services.
- Time-limited procedures of less than 15 minutes in length (e.g. beard trimming, limited facial waxing, piercing, etc.) can be performed provided removal of the customer’s mask only occurs for the time necessary to complete the procedure on the parts of the face covered by the mask. For example, if upper lip waxing is to occur, the mask may be removed only for the portion of the service that involves the upper lip and must remain on for the other portions.
- Extended-time procedures (e.g. services that take more than just a few minutes to perform such as facials, make-up services, facial tattooing, electrolysis, etc.) significantly increase the risk of COVID-19 transmission. They can be performed provided removal of the customer’s mask only occurs during the active time of the service. Customers must wear facial coverings inside the spa until the service begins and must replace them immediately after the procedure is finished. These procedures must be performed in a completely separate room with doors closed, and are limited to one attendant and one customer per room. Appropriate cleaning, disinfection, and air exchange inside the space need to occur between customers. Schedule adequate time between customer appointments for cleaning, disinfection, and air exchange.
- Post a sign that states services will not be offered to or given by anyone who is exhibiting signs of COVID-19 virus.
- Suspend “self-service” food stations, such as coffee in waiting areas.
- Remove all unnecessary items such as magazines, newspapers, and any other unnecessary paper products and decor. Wipe down all seats and tables; since cloth chairs are difficult to properly clean and disinfect, consider plastic covering.
- Wipe reception desk with disinfectant. Consider discontinuing use of paper appointment books or cards and replace with electronic options.
- Employees should frequently wash their hands after the using the phones, computer, cash register and/or credit card machine. Wipe these surfaces between each use. Plastic shields on keyboards and other high-touch devices can help with ease of cleaning.
- After each client, all surfaces in the workstation touched during the procedure must be cleaned and disinfected with an EPA registered disinfectant from List N: Products with Emerging Viral Pathogens AND Human Coronavirus claims for use against SARS-CoV-2 at the prescribed concentration and time. Surfaces that have been barrier protected are not exempt from this requirement.
- Disinfect customer use items, such as pens and clipboards used for records, after each use.
- Clean and disinfect ALL restroom surfaces including floors, sinks and toilet bowls.
- Place trashcan by door. Remove anything that does not have to be in the restrooms.
- Post handwashing signs in the restrooms for both employees and clients.
- Limit cash and paper receipt transactions; Promote “contactless” payment options (e.g., online payments, pay by phone options, RFID credit and debit cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay, etc.)
- Wash hands or use alcohol-based hand sanitizer (at least 60% alcohol) after handling cash.
- Where possible, card readers should be placed in front of physical barriers so visitors can swipe their own cards and enter their codes. Card readers and keypads should be cleaned and disinfected frequently. Hand sanitizer should be made available for visitors before and after transactions.
COVID-19 Prevention Form
In order to open, businesses must commit to complying with requirements of these checklists by filling out this short online form. Please note that religious organizations and licensed health care providers are not required to use this form.