Participation in a boating education course will teach how to properly operate and maintain a boat. There are a few options of course types to choose from. NASBLA approved online courses that are recognized in Maine are available as well as classroom courses.
Note: Persons 16 years of age and under 18 years of age MAY NOT operate a personal watercraft unless they possess on their person, identification showing proof of age and proof of successful completion of a NASBLA approved boating safety course unless they are accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who physically occupies the personal watercraft.
Online Boating Courses
These online courses are approved by NASBLA and are recognized in the state of Maine.
America's Boating Education Course This course can be completed in any of three ways: on the Internet, by studying an 80-page course manual or with a CD. No matter how you like to learn, when you sign up you'll receive a complete package which includes the course manual, the boating course CD, and a PIN number giving you access to the Internet course. This course requires successfully completing the final exam online. There is a fee to complete this course.
BoatUS Foundation Online Course This is a free course that can be completed online by participating in six lessons and successfully completing the final exam. Choose when and where to take your course. Take it on a desktop, laptop, tablet, or mobile phone.
Paddlesports Safety Online - Please Note: This course is NOT approved to replace a NASBLA approved boat operator course. This is an optional safety program specific to paddlesports. View the Paddlesports Safety Flier (PDF).
Passage of a final exam is required. You must attend every day of the class in order to receive your certificate.
Total Course = 6 Hours
- Proper Operation & Safety (Boating Handling-Equipment-Trailering) = 3 Hours
- Laws = 30 Minutes
- Emergencies & Survival (cold water) = 40 Minutes
- Self Help First Aid = 20 Minutes
- Environment/Ethics = 1 1/2 Hours
Can't find a course for your area? Contact the Regional Safety Coordinator for your area or the Recreational Safety Division Office at (207) 287-5220.
When registering either by telephone or email, please be sure to include your full name, telephone number, and which course, date and location you are signing up for.
New courses will be posted below as they become available.
|Cumberland||Portland - Portland Yacht Services||Tom Russell - (207) 774-1067x7 or firstname.lastname@example.org||April 19, 8am-3:30pm|
|Cumberland||Portland - Portland Yacht Services||Tom Russell - (207) 774-1067x7 or email@example.com||May 23, 8am-3:30pm|
|Cumberland||Portland - Portland Yacht Services||Tom Russell - (207) 774-1067x7 or firstname.lastname@example.org||June 13, 8am-3:30pm|
|Cumberland||Portland - Portland Yacht Services||Tom Russell - (207) 774-1067x7 or email@example.com||July 18, 8am-3:30pm|
|Cumberland||Standish - Standish Town Office||Terry Fay-Babcock - (207) 650-5240 4173 for questions/information.
To register go to www.standishrec.com or (207) 642-2875
|May 16, 8am-3pm|
|Cumberland||Yarmouth - Yarmouth Community Center||Rob Whitehouse - (207) 208-7343 or WhitehouseUSPS@gmail.com||April 24, 8am-5pm||
Squadron: Wawenock District: 19 - The fee for the course is $77 for individuals or $102 for couples sharing materials. (Two people from the same address may share materials.) The textbook is included in the fee.
|Somerset||Smithfield - Fairview Grange||Debra Cunningham - (207) 985-7271 or firstname.lastname@example.org||June 06, 9am-4pm|
|Aroostook||Fort Kent - Community High School||Don Lebel - (207) 834-3536||June 02 & 03, 6pm-9pm|
|York||Hollis Buxton/Hollis Rod & Gun-||Shawn Sage (207) 329-7096 for questions/information.
|July 12, 8am-5pm|