Welcome to Maine’s Online Mandated Reporter Resource Page.
Mandated Reporters are a critical part of Maine's Child protection system and act as an early warning network to identify suspected child abuse and neglect; promptly enough to avoid serious and long term damage to a child. Professionals who frequently encounter children in their work are in the best position to recognize and report suspected child abuse and neglect and are required by law to do so.
The Maine Office of Child and Family Services (OCFS) operates the statewide hotline for child abuse and neglect. Mandated Reporters call this hotline to make a report. Highly trained staff is available to guide callers through the process of making a report of suspected abuse and neglect. The hotline is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Mandated reporters (medical professional, hospital staff, school personnel, and law enforcement personnel) can report non-emergency information related to child abuse and/or neglect online using Katahdin.
Training for Mandated Reporters
Mandated Reporter Online Training
Proceed to the Maine Mandated Reporter web page: https://mainemandatedreporter.org
You can use any browser to access this training. When you begin, read all the directions first. When you begin the training, do not close your web browser until the training, quiz, and certificate are complete. If you close your browser part of the way through, you will need to begin again.
Contact a trainer in your area who is available to provide live, quality training for mandatory reporters of child abuse at no cost anywhere in the state.
This training is for employees and volunteers of a licensed child care facility in Maine.
How to register for the training
Begin training on the iLookOut site.
Mandated Reporter Resources
Mandated reporters (medical professional, hospital staff, school personnel, and law enforcement personnel) can report non-emergency information related to child abuse and/or neglect online using the Katahdin Child Welfare System.
Mandated Reporter Trainers' Resources
- T3 Portal (T3's Enter New Trainer Info)
- T3 Documents (T3 Trainers Download Updated Training Materials)
- Trainer Documents (Trainers Download Updated Training Materials)
- Mandated Reporter Evaluation (Word)
- Blank Attendance Sheet (Word)
Maine State Law regarding Mandated Reporters of Child Abuse and Neglect.
Reports regarding suspected child abuse or neglect must be made immediately by telephone to the Maine Office of Child and Family Services at 1-800-452-1999.
For Information about how to become a Mandated Reporter Trainer, please contact Stephanie Wiken, Policy & Training Specialist, OCFS, (207) 624-7900 or email Stephanie.Wiken@maine.gov.
If you are a Mandated Reporter Trainer and have completed a training, please make a PDF copy of the sign-in sheet and evaluations, and email the information to Stephanie.Wiken@maine.gov.
For Technical assistance with the Mandated Reporter web page, please contact Robin J Bickford, Policy & Training Specialist, OCFS, (207) 624-7900 or email Robin.J.Bickford@maine.gov.