The Office of Child and Family Services’ Background Check Unit (BCU) is involved in a number of different background check processes including those for child care providers and children’s residential providers. The BCU also conducts employment-related child protective history checks at the request of employers.
Employment-related Child Protective History Checks
The Employment-related Child Protective Screening will notify the employer if an individual has been substantiated for child abuse or neglect. A substantiation means an individual has been deemed responsible for abusing, neglecting, or placing a child at high risk for abuse and neglect while that child was in their care. An online request for an employment-related child protective history check can be submitted here. The cost is $15 per individual child protective history check. Instructions on using the online portal are available here (PDF).
For more information contact the Background Check Unit at (207) 624-7965 or firstname.lastname@example.org
Adam Walsh Background Checks for Foster and Adoptive Parents
The Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act 2006 (PDF) and the Social Security Act, Title IV-E, section 471(a) (20) require all those applying to become foster or adoptive parents, and any other adults living in the home, to undergo a background check through the State of Maine’s child abuse and neglect registry system.
Requesting an Adam Walsh Background check
Any State or local child welfare agency can make a request.
Requests must be submitted by email to ADAMWALSH.DHHS@maine.gov, and must include all of the following:
- Requests must be made on agency letterhead;
- Requests must include requestors name, job title, phone number, fax/mail/email address;
- Requests must include the name(s), aliases, and date(s) of birth for the individual(s) to be searched; and
- Requests must cite the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006. (Sample language: “This background check is being requested in compliance with the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006.”)
Results will be emailed back within 5-10 business days.
Please note: Information provided to agencies will be limited to the topline results of the check: “This person does not have any substantiated findings of Child Abuse and Neglect in the State of Maine,” or, “This person has substantiated findings of Child Abuse and Neglect in the State of Maine.”