Mandated Reporters

Maine law states that certain people must report suspected abuse, neglect or exploitation of an adult if they believe the adult is incapacitated or dependent. Maine law also states that certain people must report to the Department if they know or have reasonable cause to suspect that a child has been or is likely to be abused or neglected. The training links below are to on-line self paced training covering all aspects of mandatory reporting in Maine for children and adults.


Call to report abuse.

To report child abuse or neglect:

Call 1-800-452-1999
Deaf/Hard of Hearing Call Maine Relay 711

The Maine Child and Family Services line is staffed 24-hours a day, 7-days a week.

Visit the Resource Page for Mandated Reporters of child abuse and neglect

Adult Protective Services:

To report abuse, neglect or exploitation, call:

Nationwide 24-hour, toll-free 1-800-624-8404

TYY In State, Maine Relay 711
TTY Out-of-State (after hours) 207-287-3492


Hotlines

  • Hotlines - List of some of the hotlines in Maine

Mandated Reporting Statutes

Training


For more information:

If you haven't found what you're looking for, visit our pages for: