Welcome to the Department of the Secretary of State


In observance of President's Day all Secretary of State offices will be closed Monday, February 19, 2018.


As you browse through our website, you will find a very diverse Department with three distinct bureaus - the Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions, the Maine State Archives and the Bureau of Motor Vehicles . While each bureau has unique duties in the services and information it provides to the citizens of Maine, they all share the Department's goals of ensuring customer satisfaction and providing quality services. [Read more about the Department]

REAL ID - The Facts:

Revised 10/19/2017

( PDF Format ) ( Word Format )

What's New in the Department

Town of Hartford now offering Rapid Renewal Service 
Proponents submit petitions to place ranked choice voting people’s veto on June ballot
Secretary Dunlap to unveil new Emergency Medical Services license plate

(More News)


    302 Found


    The document has moved here.

    Apache Server at www11.maine.gov Port 80