Maine's Shooting Ranges

Maine Shooting Range
Locator Map

On this page:

State Owned Shooting Ranges

Fryeburg Shooting Range

The Department is scheduling new hours for use of the Fryeburg Shooting Range, located on the Major Gregory Sanborn Wildlife Management Area.

The Department has restricted use of the Fryeburg Shooting Range to time periods when an approved Range Safety Officer is present (see schedule below).

Fryeburg Shooting Range will be open to the public on the days listed below.

Note: In the case of inclement weather (rain or strong winds), the range will be closed.

Note: If the sign at the end of the road is up, the range is open.

  • Please check the website before traveling to the Brownfield/Fryeburg Range
  • Friday, June 1, 2018 9am - 5 pm
  • Saturday, June 2, 2018 9am - 5pm
  • Sunday, June 3, 2018 9am - 5pm
  • Monday, June 4, 2018 9am - 5 pm
  • Friday, June 8, 2018 9am - 5 pm
  • Saturday, June 9, 2018 9am - 5pm
  • Sunday, June 10, 2018 9am - 5pm
  • Monday, June 11, 2018 9am - 5 pm
  • Friday, June 15, 2018 9am - 5 pm
  • Saturday, June 16, 2018 9am - 5pm
  • Sunday, June 17, 2018 9am - 5pm
  • Monday, June 18, 2018 9am - 5 pm
  • Friday, June 22, 2018 9am - 5 pm
  • Saturday, June 23, 2018 9am - 5pm
  • Sunday, June 24, 2018 9am - 5pm
  • Monday, June 25, 2018 9am - 5pm
  • Friday, June 29, 2018 9am - 5 pm
  • Saturday, June 30, 2018 9am - 5pm
  • Scheduled times are posted when the range is available for use.
  • Please Obey the Range Rules - No Range Safety Officer on Duty; The Range IS CLOSED
  • If you are on the property when the Range is closed; you could be charged with Criminal Trespassing

NRA-certified Range Safety Officers that are interested in volunteering their time to monitor shooting activity at the range can contact Craig Gerry, MDIFW Shooting Range Coordinator, for more information at (207) 446-4249 or by email.

Back to top

Summerhaven (Augusta) Shooting Area

Effective immediately, the Department has restricted use of the Summerhaven (Augusta) Shooting Area to time periods when an approved Range Safety Officer is present (see schedule below). This restriction has been enacted to help ensure safe shooting practices at the site.

NRA-certified Range Safety Officers that are interested in volunteering their time to monitor shooting activity at the range can contact Craig Gerry, MDIFW Shooting Range Coordinator, for more information at (207) 446-4249 or by email.

Members of the public are also encouraged to take advantage of numerous privately operated shooting ranges throughout the state, see map of shooting ranges, including contact information.

Summerhaven Shooting Range will be open to the public on the days listed below.

Note: In the case of inclement weather (rain or strong winds), the range will be closed.

  • Summer Haven Range is NOW CLOSED(05/22/2018) for public shooting time for a period of time until the completion of the construction; projected to be the end of December 2018. Please do not access the area for any reason or shoot in any of the surrounding gravel pits. Thank you in advance for your efforts and support.

Back to top