Other Species Hunting
On this page:
A Pheasant Permit is required for hunters 16 years of age or older hunting on an adult license, in order to hunt or possess pheasant in Cumberland & York counties. Revenue derived from this permit is dedicated to the acquisition of pheasants which are raised and released by private fish and game clubs. Learn more about Maine's pheasant hunting program and see current pheasant stocking sites.
A Coyote Night Hunting Permit (valid January 1 to December 31, and available for $4*) allows the permit holder to hunt coyote at night (defined as 1/2 hour after sunset until 1/2 hour before sunrise).
Hunters must be in possession of a predator calling device (electronic, hand-held, or mouth-operated).
The Department now allows the gifting of unregistered coyotes. A tag must be attached to each gifted coyote with the name and hunting or trapping license of the person who harvested the coyote, the harvest method (hunt or trap), harvest date, and harvest town. This information must be presented accurately to the tagging agent when the animal is registered.
The use of artificial lights to hunt coyote at night is permitted. The use of dogs to hunt coyote at night is prohibited.
In addition, the commissioner may appoint agents to hunt for coyotes at night using artificial lights from September 1 to December 15. The commissioner shall make affected members of the public and law enforcement officers aware of any night hunting operation.
*Plus agent fee
A falconry license, in addition to a regular hunting license, is required of persons who engage in falconry. Copies of the regulations pertaining to this type of hunting are available upon request. To obtain a falconry license, contact MDIFW.
Crows are neither migratory waterfowl nor migratory game birds. The use of lead shot and shotguns capable of holding more than three shells is permitted. A migratory waterfowl stamp is not required.
New England Cottontail Rabbits
If you are hunting in southern Maine, MDIFW would like to know if you accidentally take or see New England cottontail rabbits. Cottontail rabbits are smaller than snowshoe hare, have hind feet less than 4 inches in length, and do not turn white in the winter. Their coat remains brown all year round. This is Maine’s only native rabbit and IFW is actively trying to restore its population. Identifying new areas where the rabbit occurs could greatly benefit restoration efforts. Please let us know about any rabbits you see by contacting a biologist in your region.
Lower Jaw of a bobcat. Arrows point to
lateral incisor teeth.
Hunters must tag bobcat within 10 days of when the animal was harvested. Bobcat can only be tagged by MDIFW staff. A lower lateral incisor, lower canine tooth, or lower jaw and tissue sample (small piece of tongue) should be submitted when the bobcat is tagged. Biologists use this information to determine the age and sex of the bobcats harvested.
2021-2022 Other Species Seasons and Bag Limits
|Species||Dates||Bag Limit||Possession Limit|
|Pheasant*||September 25 - December 31, 2021|
|September 25 - December 31, 2021|
|Bobwhite Quail||September 25 - December 31, 2021|
|Crow||See Migratory Game Birds Seasons & Bag Limits|
|Gray Squirrel||September 25 - December 31, 2021||4||8|
|September 25, 2021 - February 28, 2022|
|Snowshoe Hare||September 25, 2021 - March 31, 2022||4||8|
|Season on Island of Vinalhaven
September 25, 2021 - February 28, 2022
|Bobcat**||December 1, 2021 - February 21, 2022|
|Fox||October 18, 2020 - February 28, 2022|
|Raccoon||October 1 - December 31, 2021|
|Skunk & Opossum||October 18 - December 31, 2021|
|Coyote||During daylight hunting hours
No Closed Season for Hunting
|Night hunting (see Coyote Night Hunting Permit)
December 16, 2021 - August 31, 2022
|Woodchuck, Red Squirrel, & Porcupine||No Closed Season for Hunting|
|Cottontail, Rabbit, Spruce Grouse, Lynx||No Open Season|
All dates are inclusive except that hunting is prohibited on Sunday.
See Laws Pertaining to Hunting Equipment for information on the use of crossbows.
* In York and Cumberland counties, a permit is required to hunt or possess pheasant. Permit is not required to hunt or possess pheasant throughout the remainder of the State.
** Bobcat taken by hunting must be tagged 10 days from the time they were harvested and a tooth must be submitted for aging.