The implementation and maintenance of the statewide 9-1-1 system is funded by a surcharge on all subscriber wire line, post-paid wireless and VoIP telephone numbers in Maine, as well as prepaid wireless cards at Point of Sale. The statute governing the surcharge can be found in 25 MRSA §2927.
E9-1-1 Surcharge as of January 1, 2020
The Maine Public Utilities Commission, pursuant to 25 M.R.S. § 2927 and P.L. 2019 ch. 343 § SSSS-1, has established the statewide E-9-1-1 surcharge at 35¢ per month per line or number effective January 1, 2020.
Remitting E9-1-1 Surcharge
For all services other than prepaid wireless*, please remit surcharge based on the following rules:
Carriers with surcharge revenue averaging less than $5,000 per month:
Months Surcharge Received Remittance Due
October, November, December January
January, February, March April
April, May, June July
July, August, September October
Carriers with surcharge revenue averaging greater than $5,000 per month:
Carriers with surcharge revenue averaging greater than $5,000 per month shall remit the statewide E9-1-1 surcharge revenues collected from its customers within one month of the month collected.
Whether remitting quarterly or monthly all service providers other than prepaid wireless should complete the attached form and send it along with a check payable to Treasurer State of Maine to the following address:
Treasurer State of Maine
Emergency Services Communication Bureau
18 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0018
Surcharge Remittance Form (Effective for services beginning on January 1, 2020)
Telephone Company Contact Form
*Collection and Remitting the Prepaid Wireless Fee as of January 1, 2020
The E9-1-1 surcharge for Prepaid Wireless is applied and remitted as part of a single, point-of-sale Prepaid Wireless Fee on retail transactions. As of January 1, 2020, the Prepaid Wireless Fee amount to be collected is $1.00, which is made up of the following:
E9-1-1 $ 0.35 (the current statutory surcharge amount);
MUSF $ 0.44
MTEAF $ 0.21
Instructions on collection and remittance can be found in P.L. 2011, ch. 600.
More information on the prepaid wireless fee as established by the Maine Public Utilities Commission:
- ORDER CHANGING THE PREPAID WIRELESS FEE AMOUNT (Effective 10/25/2019)