Hawkes, Kevin (1959 - )

Genre: Children's Literature, Illustrator

Hawkes was born in Sherman, Texas. Growing up in a military family, he lived in a number of places in both the United States and Europe. After receiving his B.A. in illustration from Utah State University in 1985. Kevin and his family moved to Maine in 1990 and live in Gorham. Hawkes has written several books but is primarily an illustrator of picture books and novels.

Selected Bibliography


  • The Turnip by Walter de la Mare (1992)
  • By the Light of the Halloween Moon by Caroline Stutson (1993) , Golden Kite Award of the Society of Children's Writers and illustrators
  • Lady Bugatti by Joyce Maxner (1993)
  • The Librarian Who Measured the Earth by Kathryn Lasky (1994)
  • Painting the Wind by Michelle Dionett (1996)
  • My Little Sister Ate One Hare by Bill Grossman (1996)
  • Marven of the Great North Woods by Kathryn Lasky (1997), winner of the Lupine Award
  • Imagine That! Poems of Never-Was by Jack Prelutsky (1998)
  • by Paul Fleischman (1999)
  • And To Think That We Thought That We'd Never Be Friends by Mary Ann Hoberman (1999)
  • Island of the Aunts by Eva Ibbotson (2000)
  • I Was a Rat! by Philip Pullman (2000)
  • Handel, Who Knew What He Liked by M.T. Anderson (2001)
  • The Man Who Made Time Travel by Kathryn Lasky (2003)
  • Granite Baby by Lynne Bertrand (2005)
  • Library Lion by Michelle Knudsen (2006)
  • Velma Gratch And The Way Cool Butterfly by Alan Madison (2007)
  • Bartleby Speaks! by Robin Cruise (2009)


  • Then the Troll Heard the Squeak (1991)
  • His Royal Buckliness (1992)
  • The Wicked Big Toddlah (2007)