Maine Library Commission

The Library Commission, a 17-member board appointed by the Governor, is broadly representative of the state's library community. The Commission establishes the policies and operations of the State Library, gives advice and makes recommendations on the expenditure of state and federal funds, and establishes guidelines and policies for statewide library programs. Composition of the Maine Library Commission is defined in MRSA 27, Section 111.

Commission Guidance

COVID-19 Prevention Checklist – Public Library Guidance: originally published May 18, Updated on April 20, 2021.

Public Library Standards

Commission Rule Regarding Responsibilities of Public Libraries

Commission Meetings in 2024

  • Monday, April 22nd, 1-3 PM
  • Monday, July 15th, 1-3 PM
  • Monday, October 28th, 1-3 PM

Maine State Library Commission Membership
Seat # Representation Name Town Email Term Expiration
1 Public Library Heidi Grimm (Vice Chair) Yarmouth 11/5/2024
2 K-12 School Library Andrew Wallace Portland 11/5/2024
4 Special/Institutional Library Wynter Giddings Westbrook
8 Public Representation At-Large Heather K. Perkinson Brunswick 11/5/2024
9 Public Representation At-Large VACANT    
15 Library Trustee Jane Padham Ouderkirk Solon
17 Permanent Non-Voting, Director of Area Reference and Resource Center Ben Treat Bangor Permanent
18 Public Library VACANT       
18 Permanent Non-Voting, Director of Area Reference and Resource Center Sarah Moore Portland Permanent
19 K-12 School Library Heather Chalmers Fayette 6/1/2025
20 Large University Library Bryce Cundick (Chair) Farmington 6/1/2025
21 Small College Library Krystie Wilfong Lewiston 6/1/2025
22 Community College Library Judith Moreno Auburn 6/15/2025
23 Representative of People with Disabilities VACANT
24 Liaison to Maine Library Advisory Council Darby Kathleen Ray Lewiston 6/15/2025
25 Representative of Underserved and Rural Areas Andrea DeBiase Carrabassett Valley 6/1/2025
26 Representative of Native American Community VACANT