Maine Library Commission

The Library Commission, a 17-member board appointed by the Governor, is broadly representative of the state's library community. The Commission establishes the policies and operations of the State Library, gives advice and makes recommendations on the expenditure of state and federal funds, and establishes guidelines and policies for statewide library programs. Composition of the Maine Library Commission is defined in MRSA 27, Section 111.

Commission Guidance

COVID-19 Prevention Checklist – Public Library Guidance: originally published May 18, Updated on April 20, 2021.

Public Library Standards

Commission Rule Regarding Responsibilities of Public Libraries

Maine Library Commission Board Members
Name Address Phone Fax Email
Joyce Rumery
Chair
Fogler Library, University of Maine, Orono 207.581.1660   rumery@maine.edu
Art Turley 178 Webber Ave, Lewiston, ME 04240 207.784.1868   ajt@ajturley.com
Vacant
       
Charles Campo 37 Main Road South, Hampden, ME 04444 207.862.4113   ccampo@roadrunner.com
Helen Fogler, Vice Chair Thompson Free Library
186 East Main Street
Dover-Foxcroft, ME  04426
207.564.3350 207.564.3531 hfogler@thompson.lib.me.us
Richard Thompson 263 McGrath Pond Road Oakland, Maine 04963 207.716.1060   dickthompson008@gmail.com
Cora Damon Maine General Medical Center, Alfond Center for Health, Library Resource Center
35 Medical Center Parkway, Augusta, ME 04330
207.626.6928   cora.damon@mainegeneral.org
Michael Hays PO Box 416, Bass Harbor, ME 04653 207.244.9548   michael.hays.mdi@gmail.com
Vacant      
Heidi Grimm Yarmouth Memorial Library, 215 Main Street, Yarmouth, ME 04096 207.846.4763   hgrimm@yarmouthlibrary.org
Vacant  
Jeffrey Cabral McArthur Library, 270 Main Street, Biddeford, ME 04005 207.284.4181   jcabral@mcarthur.lib.me.us
Melissa St. John 62 Deer Hill Road, Harrison, ME 04040 207.583.6912   mstj616@gmail.com
Donald R. Wismer PO Box 207, Kents Hill, ME 04349    
Sarah Campbell Portland Public Library, 5 Monument Square, Portland, ME 04101-4072 207.871.1700 207.871.1703 campbell@portland.lib.me.us
Ben Treat Bangor Public Library, 145 Harlow Street, Bangor, ME 04401 207.947.8336 207.945.6694 bmcdade@ bpl.lib.me.us

*SOS=Secretary of State