O'Connor, Richard (1915 - 1975)

Genre: General Fiction, Non-Fiction

Biographer and novelist Richard O'Connor lived in Trenton, ME. He also wrote under the pen names Patrick Wayland, John Burke, and Frank Archer. He was born in LaPorte, IN and attended schools in Milwaukee, WI. He worked briefly as an actor in two Broadway plays, then as a newspaperman in Chicago, Detroit, New Orleans, Boston, Washington, Los Angeles, and New York. His book Bat Masterson was the basis for the television series (NBC, 1958-61) of the same name. His manuscripts are held by Fogler Library at the University of Maine.

Selected Bibliography

  • Sheridan, The Inevitable (1953)
  • High Jinks on the Klondike (1954)
  • Johnstown the Day the Dam Broke (1957)
  • Wild Bill Hickok (1959)
  • Pat Garrett: A Biography of the Famous Marshal and the Killer of Billy the Kid (1960)
  • Black Jack Pershing (1961)
  • Gould's Millions (1962)
  • Courtroom Warrior (1963)
  • Jack London: A Biography (1964)
  • Bret Harte: A Biography (1966)
  • The Lost Revolutionary: A Biography of John Reed (1967)
  • Ambrose Bierce: A Biography (1967)
  • Sitting Bull, War Chief of the Sioux (1968)
  • Pacific Destiny: An Informal History of the U.S. in the Far East: 1776-1968 (1969)
  • The First Hurrah: A Biography of Alfred E. Smith (1970)
  • John Steinbeck (1970)
  • Ernest Hemingway (1971)
  • Sinclair Lewis (1971)
  • Iron Wheels and Broken Men: The Railroad Barons and the Plunder of the West (1973)
  • Heywood Broun: A Biography (1975)