Schwartz, Elliott (1936 - )

Genre: Non-Fiction, Non-Fiction - Scholarly

Elliott Schwartz is a teacher, composer, musician and writer. He lives in South Freeport, ME.

He was born in 1936 in New York City and received his AB in 1957, his MA in 1958, and his Ed.D in 1962 from Columbia University. He is the Robert K. Beckwith Professor of Music at Bowdoin College, where he has taught since 1964, including twelve years as department chair.


  • The Symphonies of Ralph Vaughan Williams (1964)
  • Music: Ways of Listening (1982)
  • Music Since 1945: Issues, Materials and Literature (1993)
  • Contemporary Composers on Contemporary Music (1998)