OBTAINING A DRIVERS LICENSE
- Provide proof that you are a Maine resident
- Provide proof that you are a U.S. citizen or are in the country lawfully (legal presence)
- Provide two forms of proof of identity; one must indicate your date of birth and the other must bear your written signature.
- Complete a vision screening
If your social security number is not on file with the Secretary of State, you must provide your social security number. If you cannot locate your social security number, please note that U.S. citizens age 18 or older and who are residents of Maine can request a replacement SSN card online by creating a my Social Security account. To use the online replacement card service, you must have a U.S. domestic mailing address, not require a change to your record (such as a name change), and have a valid driver's license or state ID. If you believe you are ineligible for a social security number, you must present an unexpired immigration document, such as an I-94, to help us determine your ineligibility.
If you have had a legal name change due to marriage, divorce or by court order you will be required to show appropriate supporting documentation such as a marriage certificate, divorce decree or other court documentation.
Additional requirements apply to new drivers.
These are age-based and may include completion of a driver education program, driver knowledge examination and/or a driver road test. The permitting process, as well as permit and license restrictions, is explained below.
All motor vehicle branch offices and mobile unit locations issue driver's licenses. The fees vary based on age and type of license. Driver's licenses will be mailed within 2-3 weeks from the date ordered.
Visit our Driver Licenses & IDs page for more information about driver licensing in Maine, including converting an out-of-state license, license renewal, motorcycle licensing, commercial driver licensing and driving records.
NEW DRIVERS: The permitting and license process
Maine law requires a 3-step graduated drivers licensing system for new drivers who are under 18 years of age, as well as restrictions for drivers under 21 years of age. The law is intended to allow Maine's young people to gain valuable driving experience under lower risk conditions.
The Learner's Permit
General information about the learner's permit process is provided below.
Information related to the permitting and licensing requirements and restrictions is provided here based on your age group:
The driver licensing process begins with a learner's permit, which allows beginning drivers to operate a vehicle under certain age-based restrictions to prepare for their driver's license road test.
To obtain a learner's permit, applicants must be at least 15 years of age and successfully complete the written driving examination. The BMV schedules these examinations through the application process: Applicants must submit:
- Application form
- $35 fee
- Two forms of identification (See required identification documents )
- Proof of residency
- Driver education completion certificate (applicants who are under 18 years old ONLY)
- A birth certificate (applicants under the age of 23 ONLY). A photocopy with an embossed seal or stamp of the issuing agency is acceptable, but notarized copies are not accepted. This document will be returned to you. Alternatively, copies of the identity documents are acceptable to send via mail, with originals to be shown at the time of the examination.
The application can be submitted at your local Bureau of Motor Vehicles branch or mailed to:
Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Driver License Services Division
29 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0029
Once the application is processed, the BMV will schedule the applicant for the written test, at the location closest in proximity to the applicant's mailing address, within about three weeks. The BMV will notify the person by mail. If the applicant has scheduling restrictions, those should be noted along with the application, and those requests will be accommodated when possible, based on the dates/times and testing location availability. Contact information is provided on the scheduling notice, and tests can be rescheduled with no penalty fee up to 48 hours prior.
NOTE: If you completed driver education another written test is not required and upon submission of the appropriate paperwork, a permit will be issued.
A vision test is also required prior to issuance of a learner's permit. You may take a vision test at no fee when you appear for your written examination. Alternatively, you may have a doctor of your choice provide the exam at your expense and fill out the eye form. You will need to give the completed form to the driver's license examiner at the time of your driver's examination.
The learner's permit expires after two years. Permits are not renewable, but additional two-year permits can be issued. Upon permit expiration, the person must file a new application and complete the vision exam and written exam again. Any required driving hours logged on the initial learner's permit will carry over to any subsequent permit, and no additional wait time is required on a subsequent permit before applying to take a road test. The restriction from using a handheld electronic device or mobile telephone still applies, at all age levels.
The permit allows the individual to operate a vehicle when accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 20 years of age and has held a valid license for two years.
Ready for your road test? Visit our Exams page to learn more about scheduling and preparing for your test. The Exams page includes a study guide and a video that gives you a first-hand look at the entire road test experience.