Williamson, Joanne (1925 - 2002)

Genre: Young Adult

Joanne S. Williamson was born in Arlington, Virginia. She was a student Barnard College from 1942-1944 and then attended the Diller Quaile School of Music from 1944-1946.

Before moving to Kennebunkport in 1956, she was employed as a writer and editor for several newspapers and magazines in New York City and Connecticut.

In 1956, her first first novel was published; it was the first of Williamson's eight young adult historical novels.

In addition to her writing, Williamson also taught piano from 1956 until her retirement in 1990.

Selected Bibliography

  • Jacobin's Daughter (1956)
  • The Eagles Have Flown (1957)
  • Hittite Warrior (1960)
  • The Glorious Conspiracy (1961)
  • The Iron Charm (1964)
  • And Forever Free (1966)
  • To Dream Upon a Crown (1967)
  • God King (2002)