Woods, Stuart (1938 - )

Genre: General Fiction, Mystery

Prolific, best-selling author Stuart Woods was born in Manchester, GA and lives on Mount Desert Island, ME, Key West, FL and New York City.

He graduated from the University of GA with a BA in Sociology. He has worked in advertising in both the U.S., Ireland and London, spent time in the Air Force stationed in Germany, eventually he returned to Georgia where he began his writing career writing non-fiction. His first novel Chiefs was published in 1981, won the Mystery Writers of America's Edgar Award and became a major television mini-series. He has since written over forty novels, with 28 straight NYT bestsellers.

Selected Bibliography

  • Chiefs (1981) Edgar Award winner
  • Run Before the Wind (c1983)
  • Deep Lie: a Novel (c1986)
  • Under the Lake (c1987)
  • White Cargo: a Novel (c1988)
  • Grass Roots: a Novel (c1989)
  • Palindrome (c1991)
  • New York Dead (c1991)
  • Santa Fe Rules: a Novel (c1992)
  • L.A. Times: a Novel (1993)
  • Dead Eyes: a Novel (c1994)
  • Imperfect Strangers (1995)
  • Choke: a Novel (c1995)
  • Dirt: a novel (1996)
  • Dead in the Water: a Novel (c1997)
  • Orchid Beach a Novel (1998)
  • Worst Fears Realized: a Novel (c1999)
  • L.A. Dead (c2000)
  • Cold Paradise (c2001)
  • Orchid Blues (2001)
  • Blood Orchid (2002)
  • Dirty Work (c2003)
  • Capital Crimes (c2003)
  • Reckless Abandon (c2004)
  • The Prince of Beverly Hills (c2004)
  • Two-dollar Bill (c2005)
  • Iron Orchid (2005)
  • Strategic Moves (2011)
  • D. C. Dead (2012)
  • Unnatural Acts: A Stone Barrington Novel (2012)
  • Severe Clear: A Stone Barrington Novel (2012)
  • Collateral Damage: A Stone Barrington Novel (2012)

Selected Non-Fiction Titles

  • Blue Water, Green Skipper: A Memoir of Sailing Alone Across the Atlantic (2012)

Selected Resources