Davis, Maggie (1943 - )

Genre: Children's Literature, General Fiction, Non-Fiction

Davis lives in East Blue Hill with her husband, together they have six children and four grand-children. For nearly 20 years and over 10 books she was published in NY and elsewhere. In 1993, she founded the publishing company, Heartsong Books. Davis is also a lay-healer and community caregiver. Previously, she worked as a teacher, an editor, a counselor, and a cafe owner.

Selected Bibliography

Juvenile Titles

  • Grandma's Secret Letter (1982)
  • The Best Way to Ripton (1982)
  • Rickety Witch (1984)
  • The Rinky-Dink Cafe (1988)
  • Something Magic (1991; picture book inspired by visits to Isle au Haut)
  • A Garden of Whales(1993; winner of the Vermont Publishers Award)
  • Glory! to the Flowers: a celebration(1995).
  • Roots of Peace, Seeds of Hope: A Journey for Peacemakers (1993) is a book for all ages.

Adult Titles

  • Choices of a Growing Woman (1981/93),
  • Caring in Remembered Ways: The Fruit of Seeing Deeply (1999), a book celebrating compassion as a way of life "for all of us who want to nourish each other in ways we can feel."

Selected Resources