The 2022 Holiday Schedule is issued under the provisions of Chapter 11 of the State of Maine Civil Service Rules and the Benefit Package for Confidential Employees.  This list applies to employees NOT covered by collective bargaining.  Employees who are covered by collective bargaining are referred to their Collective Bargaining Agreement for a list of paid holidays.  Link to 2023 Holiday Schedule.

HOLIDAY DAY, DATE OBSERVED
New Year's Day Friday, December 31, 2021*
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 17, 2022
Washington's Birthday/President's Day Monday, February 21, 2022
Patriot's Day Monday, April 18, 2022
Memorial Day Monday, May 30, 2022
Juneteenth Monday, June 20, 2022*
Independence Day Monday, July 4, 2022
Labor Day Monday, September 5, 2022
Indigenous Peoples Day Monday, October 10, 2022
Veterans Day Friday, November 11, 2022
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 24, 2022
Thanksgiving Friday Friday, November 25, 2022
Christmas Day Monday, December 26, 2022*

To be eligible for holiday pay, employee must be in pay status on the normal workday immediately preceding and the normal workday immediately following the day and date on which the holiday is observed.

An employee who is required to work on any of these days will be granted compensatory time off at the mutual convenience of the employer and employee. If the holiday falls on a normal day off, an alternative compensatory day will be granted. Cash payments shall be made only in the instance of departmental policy established in conformance with Chapter 11, Section 1, of State of Maine Civil Service Rules.

*For Maine State Government, holidays that fall on Saturday are observed on the preceding Friday; holidays that fall on Sunday are observed on the following Monday.  For calendar year 2022, New Year’s Day (January 1) falls on a Saturday and will be observed on
Friday, December 31, 2021; Juneteenth (June 19th) falls on a Sunday and will be observed on Monday, June 20, 2022; and  Christmas Day (December 25) falls on Sunday and will be observed on Monday, December 26, 2022.