Holiday Schedule

The 2018 Holiday Schedule is issued under the provisions of Chapter 11 of the State of Maine Civil Service Rules and the Benefit Package for Confidential Employees. The 2019 Holiday Schedule is also available.

HOLIDAY DAY, DATE OBSERVED
New Year's Day Monday, January 1, 2018
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 15, 2018
Washington's Birthday/President's Day Monday, February 19, 2018
Patriot's Day Monday, April 16, 2018
Memorial Day Monday, May 28, 2018
Independence Day Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Labor Day Monday, September 3, 2018
Columbus Day Monday, October 8, 2018
Veterans' Day Monday, November 12, 2018*
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 22, 2018
Thanksgiving Friday Friday, November 23, 2018
Christmas Day Tuesday, December 25, 2018

To be eligible for holiday pay, employee must be in pay status on the normal workday immediately preceding and the normal workday immediately following the day and date on which the holiday is observed.

An employee who is required to work on any of these days will be granted compensatory time off at the mutual convenience of the employer and employee. If the holiday falls on a normal day off, an alternative compensatory day will be granted. Cash payments shall be made only in the instance of departmental policy established in conformance with Chapter 11, Section 1, of State of Maine Civil Service Rules.

*For Maine State Government, holidays that fall on Saturday are observed on the preceding Friday; holidays that fall on Sunday are observed on the following Monday. For calendar year 2018: Veterans’ Day (November 11) falls on a Sunday and will be observed on Monday, November 12, 2018.