Spencer-Fleming, Julia (1961 - )

Genre: Mystery

Julia Spencer-Fleming lives in Buxton, Maine with her family. Raised in a military family, she was born on June 26, 1961 at Plattsburgh Air Force Base in New York and spent most of her childhood moving from place to place. She studied acting and history at Ithaca College, received her JD from the University of Maine School of Law, and has worked full-time as a Portland, Maine-area attorney.

Spencer-Fleming's mystery novels are set in the small upstate New York town of Miller Kills and all feature ordained Episcopal priest and ex-Army helicopter pilot Clare Fergusson and police chief Russ Van Alstyne. Her debut novel, In the Bleak Midwinter (2002), won the 2001 Malice Domestic Award for Best First Traditional Mystery, the 2003 Anthony Award for Best First Novel, as well as the Dilys, the Barry and the Macavity Awards, making her the first author to win all six awards for a first novel.


  • In the Bleak Midwinter
  • A Fountain Filled With Blood, (2003)
  • Out of the Deep I Cry (2004
  • To Darkness and To Death (2005)
  • All Mortal Flesh, (2006)
  • I Shall Not Want (2008)
  • One Was a Soldier (2011)
  • Through the Evil Days (2013)
  • Hid From Our Eyes (2020)

Selected Links