Hopkinson, Deborah (1942 - )

Genre: Children's Literature, General Fiction, Non-Fiction

Deborah Hopkinson was born on 13 Sept. 1942, grew up in Lowell, MA and, as a child, vacationed yearly in Rangeley, ME. Deborah received a bachelor’s degree in English at the University of Massachusetts and holds a master’s degree in Asian Studies from the University of Hawaii at Manoa. She lives near Portland, Oregon, where she serves as Vice President for College Advancement for the Pacific Northwest College of Art.

Hopkinson has a website with more info on her and her books, and links for teachers and kids.

Selected Bibliography

  • Sweet Clara and the Freedom Quilt (1994)
  • Birdie's Lighthouse (1997)
  • A Band of Angels (1999)
  • Bluebird Summer (2001)
  • Fannie in the Kitchen: The Whole Story From Soup to Nuts of How Fannie Farmer Invented Recipes with Precise Measurements (2001)
  • Prairie Skies: Pioneer Summer (2003)
  • Prairie Skies: Cabin in the Snow (2002)
  • Under the Quilt of Night (2002)
  • Maria's Comet (2003)
  • Our Kansas Home (2003)
  • Shutting Out the Sky: Life in the Tenements of New York, 1880-1924 (2003)
  • Girl Wonder: A Baseball Story in Nine Innings (2003/2006)
  • The Klondike Kid: Sailing for Gold (2003)
  • The Long Trail (2004)
  • The Klondike Kid: Adventure in Gold Town (2004)
  • Apples to Oregon: Being the (Slightly) True Narrative of How a Brave Pioneer Father Brought Apples, Peaches, Pears, Plums, Grapes, and Cherries (and Children) Across the Plains (2004)
  • A Packet of Seeds (2004)
  • Hear My Sorrow: The Diary of Angela Denoto, A Shirtwaist Worker (2004)
  • John Adams Speaks for Freedom (2005)
  • Billy and the Rebel: Based on a True Civil War Story (2005)
  • Who Was Charles Darwin? (2005), with Nancy Harrison
  • Saving Strawberry Farm (2005)
  • From Slave to Soldier: Based on a True Civil War Story (2005)
  • Susan B. Anthony : Fighter for Women's Rights (2005)
  • Sky Boys: How They Built the Empire State Building (2006)
  • Up Before Daybreak: Cotton And People In America (2006)
  • Into the Firestorm: A Novel of San Francisco, 1906 (2006)

Selected Links