Certified Local Government Grants

Picture of Cover of Grant Manual 2023

The Maine Historic Preservation Commission is pleased to announce the second 2023 Certified Local Government (CLG) grant round. The Commission anticipates awarding approximately $30,000 in 60/40 matching grants for architectural or archaeological survey, public education, planning, National Register nominations or development or pre-development projects for projects located in CLG communities. The minimum grant award is normally $5,000.

Eligible historic buildings and sites are those that are listed in the National Register of Historic Places either individually or as contributing resources in a National Register-listed historic district.

Eligible applicants are limited to municipal governments with CLG status, and non-profit institutions as defined by the Internal Revenue Service applying through the municipal governments. Projects must be directed by persons with professional credentials as defined by the Department of the Interior and must be completed by March 15, 2025.

Funding priorities for 2023 include municipal or regional level planning for the effects of climate change on historic resources; providing planning assistance to CLG communities; diversifying identification and registration efforts to include everyone’s history; identifying and providing protection for particularly vulnerable resources; supporting pre-development, development and archaeology projects; and increasing awareness of historic preservation activities through education, outreach, publications and events.  A complete list of funding priorities is available in the manual.

For an application form and grant manual please click below or contact the Maine Historic Preservation Commission, 55 Capitol Street, 65 State House Station, Augusta, ME, 04333-0065, (207) 287-1453. Applications are due September 25, 2023. 


2023 CLG Grant Manual (Word)

2023 CLG Grant Manual (PDF)


2023 CLG Grant Application (Word)

2023 CLG Grant Application (PDF)


The Maine Historic Preservation Commission receives Federal financial assistance for the identification and protection of historic properties; under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the U. S. Department of the Interior prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, or handicap in its federally assisted program.