Staff Directory / Contact Us

Issac Gage House
Capt. Isaac Gage House, c.1845

The offices of the Maine Historic Preservation Commission are located in the c.1845 Capt. Isaac Gage House, 55 Capitol Street, Augusta.

Our normal office hours are 8-5 Monday through Friday.

Our mailing address is:

Maine Historic Preservation Commission
55 Capitol Street
65 State House Station
Augusta, Maine, 04333-0065

(207) 287-2132

For general inquiries contact us by email.

Staff Directory and Program Areas

Kirk F. Mohney, Director and State Historic Preservation Officer, 287-3811, kirk.mohney@maine.gov

Christi A. Chapman-Mitchell, Assistant Director, Deputy SHPO, Grants, 287-1453, christi.chapman-mitchell@maine.gov

Dr. Arthur Spiess, PhD., Chief Historic Preservationist, Prehistoric Archaeology, 287-2789, arthur.spiess@maine.gov

Dr. John Leith Smith, PhD., Historic Preservation Coordinator, Historic Archaeology, 287-8304, leith.smith@maine.gov

Mike D. Johnson, Historic Preservation Coordinator, Rehabilitation Tax Credit program, Easements, Technical Information, 287-2949, mike.d.johnson@maine.gov

Michael W. Goebel-Bain, Historic Preservation Coordinator, National Register of Historic Places, Architectural Survey, technical assistance, 287-5435, michael.w.goebel-bain@maine.gov

Megan M. Rideout, Historic Preservation Coordinator, Review and Compliance, Certified Local Governments, 287-2992, megan.m.rideout@maine.gov

John Mosher, Archaeology Technician III, Field and Lab Archaeology, 287-5983, john.p.mosher@maine.gov

William Burgess, Archaeology Technician II, Field and Lab Archaeology, 287-5726, william.burgess@maine.gov

Megan G. Theriault, Archaeology Technician I, Field and Lab Archaeology, 287-5726, megan.theriault@maine.gov 

Rachael Newbert, Archaeology Technician I, Field and Lab Archaeology, 287-5726, rachael.newbert@maine.gov

Claudette Coyne, Secretary Specialist, 287-2132 X 0, claudette.coyne@maine.gov